WES continues to receive academic documents from institutions around the globe, including 7,000 that now send us secure, digital files. For updates, visit our notifications page.

WES Advisor Blog

助你取得学业职业成功

加拿大就业:指导您寻找工作的 10 个小贴士

星期一 | 2019-03-18 | by Anne Greenwood

employment in Canada

通过回顾 2018 年网络研讨会上的一些关键要点,我们发现了能够协助您很好地寻找工作的 10 大经验教训。我们在一场近期的网络研讨会上回顾了这些经验教训,还探讨了将会对您的职业生涯产生影响的 2019 年就业趋势。

让我们来看一看这十大经验教训,从而为您在加拿大的职业生涯提供助力。

进行调查研究

到达加拿大前,花时间调查研究就业前景,打算前往的城市和省份,以及技能与在加拿大同行业中工作的人相比如何。调查研究可能会显示,您的技能在加拿大西部的需求量大,但在打算定居的安大略省的需求量较低。了解需要雇用具备像您这样的技能和经验的人才的雇主的主要所在位置。

考虑下列问题,以期作出关于您在加拿大的生活和职业生涯的谨慎决定:

  • 哪个城市对我的技能和经验需求量最大?
  • 我会喜欢哪种生活方式:都市、郊区或是农村?
  • 适合我的技能组合的常见职位是什么?这些职位是否和我目前的职位不同?
  • 对于具有我这样的经验水平的人士,通常薪资范围是多少?
  • 我是否需要获取哪些新技能,才能在加拿大在我的行业里实现成功?

使用免费工具

网络上有大量的免费工具可供您用来进行劳动力市场调查。首先是 Job Bank,一项加拿大政府资源,上面有大量的信息。您可按照行业和职位进行探索,还可以查找信息,例如:

  • 按照省份/领地和地区来划分的就业前景
  • 薪资范围
  • 许可和执照
  • 教育要求
  • 常见职位

Statistics Canada 发布关于加拿大全国各地的就业趋势月度信息。这些数据将让您能够了解衰退中的和新兴的趋势。这些数据还将帮助您了解影响加拿大劳动力市场的趋势,以便追踪这些事件的后续发展。

相关阅读

帮助您了解加拿大劳动力市场的工具

阅读职位描述

招聘经理通常会花心思精心编写职位描述。在申请某个岗位时,先花时间彻底理解相关的要求、资质和技能,之后再提交申请。职位描述中包含着大量信息,仔细查阅每个部分,并将其融入到您的简历当中。这将提高您的申请通过筛选阶段并获得机会能够在当面的面试中给招聘经理留下深刻印象的可能性。

理解招聘流程

一旦提交申请,理解招聘流程中的各个阶段将会对您有所帮助,这样您即可在等待回应的过程中设定期望,并在继续后续步骤的时准确地知道可以联系谁。人力资源 (HR) 和招聘经理在招聘流程中扮演着不同的角色:HR 帮助招聘经理确定对于岗位的需求,寻找并筛选申请人,并支持做出最终决定;招聘经理识别所需的人才,配合 HR 起草职位描述,进行面试和评估,并担当最终决策者。

招聘决定的确定需要耗费时间和资源,在招聘流程中应当尽量做到耐心。

相关阅读

了解招聘流程

使用您的学历学位认证

在加拿大实现职业生涯成功的旅程中,您的学历学位认证是一项非常重要的工具。对于潜在雇主而言,学历学位认证是能够证明您符合岗位资格的可证实的证据,并能确保您的适合性不存在疑问。务必在您简历里的教育部分中附上同等性声明(可在您的认证报告中找到)。通知您当面进行面试时,把您的学历学位认证分享给雇主,以便他们能够验证您的学术资质。

相关阅读

如何将您的学历学位认证用于就业、教育和职业许可

制定计划

随着您在加拿大的未来职业生涯的愿景变得越来越清晰,为您在实现最终目标的过程中的具体计划设定目标。您的目标应当做到:具体、可衡量、可实现、相关、及时。使用首字母缩略词 “SMART” 来记住这五个目标指导原则。

您可能需要一定的时间才能实现在行业中成功找到工作的目标。制定一项计划,并坚持到底,这将帮助您在探索这个人生过渡期的过程中找到方向。

建立您的人际网络

职业人际网络在加拿大的职业环境中是一件极为贵重的商品。您的联系人网络可提供社会资本和机会的连接。您的人际网络所做的推荐比在线提交申请和无约电话更有可能促成面试(和入职)。为建立人际网络,您需要密切注意沟通技能,包括如何传达信息、身体语言以及与他人之间的互动。随着您进入加拿大的职业领域,注意那些拥有庞大社交网络的人士的习惯,例如:

  • 语言使用
  • 非语言的提示
  • 姿态
  • 眼神接触
  • 谈话主题

从那些擅长建立人际网络的人身上吸取经验,这将帮助您建立您自己的职业社群。记住,人际网络是一种有来有往的关系,包括分享您的专业经验和吸取他人的专业经验。

相关阅读

如何充分利用面对面的人际网络活动

找到您的职业社群

要开始建立人际网络,您必须在加拿大找到您的职业社群。有许多协会组织提供人际交流活动,大部分是按地点和职业进行组织,这些活动还提供职业发展和志愿活动的机会,以便您能够见到行业中的其他人士。

多伦多地区移民就业委员会 (TRIEC) 促进专业移民网络 (PIN) 的发展,后者是旨在帮助初到者与其他人建立联系的一个职业协会团体。

相关阅读

在专业移民网络的社群中找到价值

探索三大主要城市以外的生活

大部分加拿大的初到者会选择定居在五大主要城市:多伦多、蒙特利尔、温哥华、卡尔加里、埃德蒙顿。都市中心享有更强的多样性、现有的支持网络、大量的初到者支持,甚至可能有家人和朋友在同一个区域,因此有着巨大的吸引力。但是,中小城市有着多种多样的机会,可为初到者提供报酬丰厚的职业和富有意义的生活。

在选择生活的地方时,分析您想在加拿大过什么样的生活。为您的生活建立一个愿景,将帮助您决定最适合您的地方。

相关阅读

考虑在加拿大都市中心以外生活和工作

寻求帮助

对于加拿大的初到者而言,有许多免费的项目和资源可供使用。项目各不相同 — 有些专门关注就业问题,而有些则协调导师制的关系,或是帮助建立您的沟通技能。访问加拿大政府的网站,查找您所在区域的初到者服务。获得支持有时候能够加速从到达加拿大到找到第一份工作之间的时间,尤其是如果您在到达前的阶段便开始准备。

2019 年的预测

2019 年,就业市场将逐渐靠近关于未来工作态势的估测。我们将会看到“人际技能”的崛起,例如创造力、领导力、批判性思维以及分析和评估。随着工作性质变化,您将会看到越来越多的岗位要求个人与技术并肩合作。个人将提升技能,以转向符合其现有技能的紧缺职业

观看我们的网络研讨会,详细了解 2019 年的趋势展望和 2018 年的经验教训。

Anne Greenwood是加拿大全球人才桥梁的市场与传播经理。

WES continues to receive academic documents from institutions around the globe, including 7,000 that now send us secure digital files. For updates, visit our notifications page.

WES Advisor Blog

Trusted Advice for Academic and Professional Success

Employment in Canada: A Year in Review and Projecting Forward

Friday | December 21, 2018 | by Anne Greenwood

employment in Canada

As we flip the calendar to a new year, we take a look back at some of the key takeaways from our webinars in 2018. There are ten big lessons that you can take into the coming year that will serve you well in your job search. We reviewed these lessons in a recent webinar, and also spoke about employment trends that will affect your career success heading into 2019.

Let’s take a look at the Top 10 lessons learned this year to fuel your career in Canada:

1. Do Your Research

Before you arrive in Canada, take time to research your employment prospects, the city and province you are destined for, and how your skills compare to those working in the field in Canada. Research may reveal that your skills are in high demand in western Canada, but demand is low in Ontario where you were planning to settle. Know where the employers are that are prime for hiring someone with your skills and experience.

Consider the following questions to inform your decisions regarding your life and career in Canada:

  • In which city are my skills and experience most in demand?
  • What lifestyle will I enjoy: urban, suburban, or rural?
  • What are the common job titles for my skill set? Do these titles differ from my current title?
  • What is the typical salary range for someone with my level of experience?
  • Are there new skills I will need to acquire to succeed in my field in Canada?

2. Use Free Tools

There are plenty of free tools available online to conduct labour market research. Start with the Job Bank, a government of Canada resource with plenty of information. You can explore by field and job title and find information, such as:

  • Employment prospects by province/territory and region
  • Salary ranges
  • Regulation and licensing
  • Education requirements
  • Common titles

Statistics Canada releases monthly information on employment trends across Canada. This data will give you an idea of the diminishing and emerging trends. It will also help you understand the trends affecting the Canadian labour market so you can track these issues going forward.

Related Reading

Tools to Help you Understand the Canadian Labour Market

3. Read the Job Description

Hiring managers take great care in crafting job descriptions. When applying to a role, take the time to thoroughly understand the requirements, qualifications, and skills before you submit your application. There is a wealth of information in a job description; review each component carefully and incorporate them into your résumé. This will increase the likelihood that your application will make it through the screening stage and that you will be granted the opportunity to impress the hiring manager during an in-person interview.

4. Understand the Recruitment Process

Once you submit your application, it is helpful to understand the stages of the hiring process so you can set expectations as you await a response, and know exactly whom to contact as you move forward. Human resources (HR) and the hiring manager have different roles in the recruitment process: HR helps the hiring manager determine needs for the role, sources and screens applicants, and supports a final decision; the hiring manager identifies the talent needed, works with HR to draft a job description, conducts interviews and assessments, and serves as the final decision maker.

Making a hiring decision takes time and resources; try to be patient during the hiring process.

Related Reading

Understanding the Hiring Process

5. Use Your Credential Evaluation

Your credential evaluation is a valuable tool on your journey to career success in Canada. It serves as verifiable proof to prospective employers that you are qualified for the role, ensuring there is no doubt of your suitability. Be sure to include the equivalency statement (found on your evaluation report) under the education section of your résumé. When you are called for an in-person interview, share your credential evaluation report with the employer so they can verify your academic qualifications.

Related Reading

How to Use Your Credential Evaluation for Employment, Education, and Professional Licensure

6. Make a Plan

As the vision of your future career in Canada becomes clearer, set goals for how you are going to achieve each as you move toward your ultimate goal. Your goals should be: specific, measurable, achievable, relevant, and timely. Use the acronym “SMART” to remember these five goal guidelines.

It may take time for you to reach your goal of finding successful employment in your field. Making a plan and sticking to it will give you direction as you navigate this period of transition in your life.

7. Build Your Network

A professional network is an extremely valuable commodity in the Canadian professional environment. Your network of contacts provides social capital and connections to opportunities. A referral from your network is more likely to lead to an interview (and hire) than submitting online applications and cold calling. To build a network, pay close attention to your communication skills, including how you convey your message, your body language, and your interaction with others. As you enter the Canadian professional realm, take note of the habits of those with large social networks, such as:

  • Language use
  • Non-verbal cues
  • Stance
  • Eye contact
  • Conversational topics

Taking cues from those who excel at networking will help you build your own professional community. Remember that networking is a give-and-take that consists of sharing your expertise and drawing on others’.

Related Reading

How to Make the Most of In-Person Networking Events

8. Find Your Professional Community

To begin building your network, you must find your professional community in Canada. There are plenty of associations—largely organized by location and profession—that offer networking events, as well as professional development and volunteering opportunities so that you can meet others in your field.

The Toronto Region Immigrant Employment Council (TRIEC) facilitates Professional Immigrant Networks (PINs), a group of professional associations designed to connect newcomers with one another.

Related Reading

Finding Value in Community with Professional Immigrant Networks

9. Explore Life Beyond the Big Three Cities

The majority of newcomers to Canada settle in five major cities: Toronto, Montreal, Vancouver, Calgary, and Edmonton. There is a big draw to urban centres, which boast greater diversity, existing support networks, a plethora of newcomer supports, and perhaps family or friends in the area. However, there are a range of opportunities in small and medium cities that can offer newcomers rewarding careers and meaningful lives.

When choosing a place to live, analyze what kind of life you seek in Canada. Establishing a vision for your life will help you decide the best place for you.

Related Reading

Considering Life and Work Outside of Canadian Urban Centres

10. Seek Help

There are a number of free programs and resources available to newcomers to Canada. Programs vary—some are focused on employment exclusively, while others coordinate mentorship relationships, or help to build your communication skills. Visit the Government of Canada’s website to find newcomer services in your area. Getting support can sometimes expedite the time between arriving in Canada and finding your first job, particularly if you begin preparing during the pre-arrival phase.

Projections for 2019

In 2019, the job market will inch closer to estimations of what the future of work will be. We will see the rise of “human skills,” such as creativity, leadership, critical thinking, and analysis and evaluation. As the nature of work shifts, you will see more roles that require individuals to work with and alongside technology. Individuals will up-skill to pivot to in-demand professions that align with their existing skills.

Watch our webinar for more on trends to watch in 2019 and lessons learned in 2018.

Anne Greenwood is the Marketing and Communications Manager at WES Global Talent Bridge Canada.