WES Advisor Blog

助你取得学业职业成功

加拿大移民:提高快速通道(Express Entry)移民评分

星期三 | 2018-01-31 | by WES Advisor

移民加拿大是全球数百万人的共同目标,你可以做些什么来提高成功机会呢?请于3月8日星期四美国东部时间上午10:00加入我们,参加由加拿大移民律师David Cohen举办的现场网络研讨会,期间他将分享丰富的提高快速通道移民评分的方法,包括:

  • 如何完善个人档案
  • 积极主动的准备工作能带来怎样的优势​

作为移民律师事务所Campbell Cohen的高级合伙人,David拥有超过40年帮助客户实现梦想移民加拿大的经验。你能在他公司的网站CanadaVisa上了解更多关于他的资历的信息。

你可以期待什么

自从2015年加拿大采用了基于资质(merit-based)的快速通道经济移民系统,现在移民的甄选过程很大程度上取决于的人力资本因素,包括年龄,英语/法语熟练程度,教育程度,加拿大以及国外工作经历。

快速通道用于管理加拿大三个经济移民类别的申请:联邦技术移民,联邦技工移民和加拿大经验移民。

在综合排名系统Comprehensive Ranking System(CRS)下,快速通道候选人根据其人力资本因素获得最高可达600分的核心分数。快速通道系统根据这个分数,加上可能的附加因素,为候选人在快速通道中排名。

快速通道系统的优点在于它是动态的。这意味着你的分数不是固定的,只要你愿意付出努力,分数便有机会上涨。

请务必提交最准确的个人资料(提交不准确的个人资料会受到处罚)。以下是几个要点:

  • 语言成绩越高越好:一位英语流利,但没有很好的语言测试成绩的联邦技工候选人,只需要达到最低的语言熟练程度即可进入排名池。但通过提高他们的测试成绩,候选人可以将自己的快速通道核心分数提高多达118分。对于有配偶的候选人,配偶通过展示语言熟练程度可以为候选人获得20分。
  • 完成学位认证:加拿大体验移民的候选人可以参加没有教育认证评估Education Credential Assessment(ECA)的排名池,然后通过学位认证将核心分数提高200分。有两个学士学位的联邦技工候选人,只需要一个学位的认证便可以进入快速通过排名池,但认证第二个学位可以带来额外的58分。有配偶的候选人也可以通过认证配偶的学位获得10个额外分数。
  • 正确地申报工作经验:联邦技工候选人在进入排名池时可能只有一年的全职相关专业工作经验。但如果他们在一个不同的职业上有一年以上的工作经验,还有几年的兼职工作呢?对于从未在加拿大工作过的候选人,不申报这类工作会让他们白白损失25分。具有加拿大工作经验的候选人可能会白白放弃超过100分。

候选人还应确认其工作每年的职业分类,并增加超过最高CRS分数的年数。对于可能需要具有特定职业工作经验的候选人(例如IT经理与程序员)的省提名项目Provincial Nominee Program也很重要。有关这些项目的更多信息,请继续阅读!

积极的准备工作

“随时做好准备”不仅仅是童子军赖以生存的格言,而且应该是快速通道排名池中每个候选人的座右铭。收到快速通道邀请函Invitation to Apply(ITA)后,积极主动准备所需文件非常重要。

以下是一些相关要点:

  • 快速通道的90天ITA窗口:从收到ITA的那一刻起,你有90天的时间提交永久居留申请。而一些所需文件,例如工作经验证明文件,可能需要一段时间才能获得,所以不要等到最后一分钟再去提交文件申请。2017年前五个月内超过40%的永久居留申请是在90天期间的最后30天内收到的,我们认为这个时间线太紧了。早早做好提交申请的文件准备至关重要。
  • 省级提名项目:大多数加拿大省份和地区都有所谓的省级提名项目Provincial Nominee Program(PNP),允许不同身份每年提名一定数量的移民以获得永久居留权。许多PNP有与快速通道的对口合作,其中一些采取先到先得的顺序。在PNP名额放出时准备好必要的文件很重要,因为PNP的名额通常很快会满。具有省级提名的快速通道候选人可以获得额外的600分,帮助ITA轻松到达目标分数范围。以下是Express-Entry-aligned PNP的示例:
    • 安大略省的人力资本优先通道(2017年多次开放)
    • 萨斯喀彻温国际技工快报入境分类(2017年开放五次)
    • 新斯科舍省的需求:快速入境(2017年开放三次)
    • 曼尼托巴技工海外快速入境通道(2018年新增,已开通一次)

开放思维,更多选择

对在加拿大居住的地方保持开放的态度可以增加你获得ITA的可能性。多伦多可能是很多人的首选,但其他省份的PNP可能会提供更快的永久居住身份。萨斯喀彻温省和新斯科舍省有一些加拿大最活跃的快速通道PNP项目,它们可能是你通往加拿大永久居民身份的门票。不要忽视这些选择,保持开放的心态!

在网络研讨会期间,我们将有更多的见解和信息与你分享,欢迎点击链接踊跃报名!​​

相关阅读:

WES Advisor附属于拥有40年学位认证经验的非营利性机构World Education Services, Inc. 旨在为想要来到美国和加拿大的海外学生和技术移民提供留学,求职,移民方面的指导。

WES Advisor Blog

Trusted Advice for Academic and Professional Success

Canadian Immigration: Improve Your Express Entry Ranking

Wednesday | January 31, 2018 | by WES Advisor

Immigrating to Canada is a goal shared by millions around the world, so what can you do to distinguish yourself and improve your chances of success? Quite a lot, in fact. Join us on Thursday, March 8 at 10:00 a.m. EST for a live webinar featuring Canadian immigration lawyer David Cohen, who will teach you a few tricks of his trade, including:

  • Tips for perfecting your profile.
  • The advantage of proactive preparation.

As a senior partner at the immigration law firm Campbell Cohen, David has more than 40 years’ experience helping clients achieve their Canadian dream. We invite you to read more about his credentials on his company’s website, CanadaVisa.

What You Can Expect

With its switch to the merit-based Express Entry economic immigration system in 2015, Canada’s immigrant selection process is now largely determined by so-called human capital factors that include age, proficiency in English and/or French, education, and work experience in Canada and/or abroad.

Express Entry is used to manage applications for three of Canada’s economic immigration categories: the Federal Skilled Worker Class, Federal Skilled Trades Class, and the Canadian Experience Class.

Under what’s called the Comprehensive Ranking System, or CRS, Express Entry candidates receive a core score based on their human capital factors and combinations thereof, up to a maximum of 600 points. This score, combined with possible additional factors, provides them with their ranking in the Express Entry pool.

The beauty of the Express Entry system for candidates is that it’s dynamic. This means your score isn’t fixed, but can be improved if you’re willing to put in the effort.

There are benefits to submitting the most accurate profile possible (also, there are penalties for submitting an inaccurate profile). Here are a few of the points we will touch on in this regard:

  • Best language score possible: A Federal Skilled Worker candidate who is fluent in English but does not have a great language test score might enter the pool with only the minimum required proficiency. However, by improving their test results, candidates can increase their score by up to 118 points. It is also worth noting that for candidates with a spouse, there are 20 points available for a spouse demonstrating his or her language proficiency.
  • Get your education evaluated: A candidate in the Canadian Experience Class may enter the pool with no Education Credential Assessment (ECA) and then increase their score by up to 200 points by having a degree assessed. Even a Federal Skilled Worker candidate with two bachelor’s degrees might only have one of them assessed in order to enter the pool, and be missing out on another possible 58 points for their second degree. Candidates with a spouse may also be entitled to 10 points for their spouse’s demonstrated education.
  • Declaring work experience correctly: A Federal Skilled Worker candidate may have claimed only one year of full-time continuous skilled work experience when entering the pool. But what if they also have a year or more of work experience in a different occupation, and several years of part-time work? For candidates who have never worked in Canada, leaving out this experience may cost them up to 25 points. Candidates with Canadian work experience may be depriving themselves of over 100 points.

Candidates should also determine the proper occupation classification for each year they worked and add years beyond the maximum CRS score. This is also important for Provincial Nominee Programs that may need a candidate with work experience in a specific occupation (IT manager vs. programmer, for example). For more on these programs, keep reading!

Proactive Preparation

“Be prepared” aren’t just words for Scouts to live by, but a motto for every candidate in the Express Entry pool. It’s important that you proactively prepare all the documents required should you receive an Invitation to Apply (ITA) through Express Entry.

Here are some of the main points we’ll discuss on the topic of proactive preparation:

  • Express Entry’s 90-day ITA window: From the moment you receive an ITA, you have 90 days to submit your application for permanent residence. Some of the required documents can take a while to obtain, like work experience letters, so don’t wait until the last minute to request them. More than 40 percent of applications for permanent residence submitted in the first five months of 2017 were received in the last 30 days of the 90-day period, which is too close for comfort.
  • Provincial Nominee Programs: Most Canadian provinces and territories have what’s called a Provincial Nomination Program (PNP) that allows them to nominate an allotted number of immigrants each year for permanent residence. Many PNPs have at least one stream that’s aligned with the Express Entry system, some of which operate on a first-come, first-served basis. Having the necessary documents ready to go when one of those streams opens is crucial because they tend to reach their quotas quickly. The payoff? An Express Entry candidate with a provincial nomination gets an additional 600 points towards their CRS score, putting an ITA well within reach. The following are examples of Express-Entry-aligned PNPs:
    • Ontario’s Human Capital Priorities Stream (opened multiple times in 2017)
    • Saskatchewan’s International Skilled Worker—Express Entry sub-category (opened five times in 2017)
    • Nova Scotia’s Demand: Express Entry (opened three times in 2017)
    • Manitoba Skilled Worker Overseas—Express Entry Pathway (new in 2018, already opened once)

Open Mind, More Options

Proactive preparation paired with an open mind in terms of where you’re willing to reside in Canada can increase your likelihood of obtaining an ITA. Toronto may be your first destination of choice, but PNPs in other provinces may offer a faster track to permanent residence. As noted above, Saskatchewan and Nova Scotia have some of Canada’s most active Express Entry-aligned PNPs, and they could very well be your ticket to Canadian permanent residence.

We’ll have a lot more insights and information to share with you during the webinar; be sure to sign up today!

Register Now

Related Articles:

Tips for Improving Express Entry Comprehensive Ranking System Scores

Top 5 Barriers Skilled Immigrants Face and How to Overcome Them

WES Advisor is an initiative of World Education Services, a non-profit organization with over 40 years of experience in international education. We provide tips and advice for international students and skilled immigrants to help them make informed decisions about education, employment, and immigration opportunities in the U.S. and Canada.