WES Advisor Blog

助你取得学业职业成功

如何为美国大学申请撰写Personal Essay

星期四 | 2019-06-20 | by Mariel S. Tavakoli

Mariel S. Tavakoli 是一位 WES 专家大使,她最近刚从牛津大学毕业。她的研究领域主要是帮助国际学生使用英语来准备个人陈述。

在下文中,她提供了关于如何准备一篇能够提高您被美国的大学或学院录取概率的Personal Essay的重要见解。


当您在申请本科生课程项目、研究生课程项目或是奖学金时,申请中的书面部分要求您体现您的过往经历,并将它们与您的未来目标联系在一起。这个部分可能被称为个人陈述(personal statement)、个人文章(personal essay),或是目的陈述(statement of purpose)。

但无论它被称为什么,也无论您被指定了哪个主题,您的个人文章的真正灵感都始终是一样的:您自己。

每位录取官员想要听到的都是您独特的声音、故事和愿景。所以,虽然接近文章主题(其也可能被称为“提示”或是以问题的形式出现)的方式没有正确和错误之分,但有一些方法能够使写作过程更加可管理,并使最终结果更加强大。

以下是一些将帮助您为美国的学院和大学准备一篇出色的个人文章的重要贴士。

给您自己时间

您必须记得去做的最重要的事,就是给您自己足够的时间进行写作。

许多美国高中生在春季或夏季就开始撰写他们的文章,也就是大约在申请截止日期的六个月之前。如果这是您用英语写的第一篇学术文章,或是您第一次为位于美国的读者撰写文章,则您可以做的最重要的事就是提前开始思考、研究和写作。

撰写个人文章的流程在您握起纸和笔的很早之前就已经开始。

从阅读开始:您阅读的英文个人文章的范文越多,您就越有可能想清楚如何用这个语言清晰地表达您独特的声音。这还将帮助您发现适当水平的学术表达和正式程度。当然,您将需要进行一些研究,以找出各种成功的范文来进行学习。不要忘记在规划您将需要的总体时间的时候考虑这一点。

接下来:找到能够使用英语流利书写和/或知道美国对于个人文章的期望的老师、家长和朋友。询问他们是否愿意向您提供反馈。有时,您的美国目标学校有指定的工作人员能够向您寄送特定的资源或是提供更为直接的帮助,建议国际申请人务必向招生办公室咨询是否提供这些服务。在您开始写作之前,您应当接触所有潜在的候选人,不要等到您准备好将某些东西交给他们阅读的时候!(您可以在您完成初稿之后跟进并寻求他们的反馈。)

当您安排了大量的时间来理解、计划、写作和修改时,您将尽可能写出最好的个人文章。这还有助于您在申请过程中预防压力的产生。

相关阅读

如何进入美国研究生院

理解您的受众

您在阅读个人文章时是否听过下列术语?

  • 适合
  • 突出
  • 讲述您的故事

为了理解这些术语和您的读者 — 大学录取官员— 务必应当理解录取的流程。

美国大学传统上采用一种综合性的录取方法。换句话说,您的录取决定并非只是基于您的成绩或考试分数。相反,录取官员将会尝试 360 度地了解您是什么样的人,您将如何全面适应其他学生和大学文化。这就是与大学“适合”的意思。

要想了解录取官员可能看重哪些因素,您的第一步就是了解大学本身。查看大学的网站,关注大学的社交媒体页面,阅读校友的证言,接触当前的在校生,阅读大学的战略计划。与此同时,记录常用的词组和共通的表述。将它们保存下来,供您之后思考和写作时使用。

虽然整体性的录取流程是了解申请人的一个很好的方式,但这也意味着录取官员必须在一天内阅读上百份申请书。因此您的个人故事必须从竞争中“突出”。虽然可能会让您感到不舒服,但计算您的优势并突显您最重要的成就将会给人留下深刻的印象,即便是对于最疲惫的招生录取官员而言。使用直接的语言和具体的示例来展现关于您的性格、个人历史和未来抱负的最原创的东西。

但无论如何,吸引录取官员的最佳方式就是做到真诚和真实。所以接下来,让我们进入专门讨论“讲述您的故事”的部分……

了解更多:获取电子指南

奖学金指南

找到您的故事

向一位不认识的录取官员“讲述您的故事”并不容易。个人文章要求您同时做到个性化和足够专业。您还必须以一种结合性的叙述方式来将您的经历和目标编排在一起。

第一个步骤是盘点您迄今为止的生活经历。您可能已经在您的简历中组织了大量的这类信息。使用它来将您的经历分成不同的类别:职称、职责、经验教训、影响程度、特殊技能、兴趣爱好等等。

但是,您的个人文章不应读起来像一份简历的列表。为了避免这个问题,选择一或两个与您的个人文章主题相关的并且最能让您兴奋的经历。探索您可以如何将不同类别中的强项连接到这一点上。开始思考您可能会如何将这些事件共同编排成一个引人注目的叙述。

例如,注意某一个经历是如何促成了实现,激发了行为,或是触发了回忆的。即便是最小的个人详情也可以成为您的其余文章内容的通路或框架。

您的个人文章务必做到真实性(这对于您而言很重要)与录取顾问对优秀申请人的期望之间的平衡。首先,您在超出职责范围以外所承担的任何领导角色或任务都是应当突显的。然后,回想您针对所申请学校做的调查研究,人们使用了哪些语言表述来描述校园或社区。您的任何经历是否适合这些品质?

再次强调,不要担心展现这些成就并给录取官员留下印象!

后续步骤:观看网络讲座

了解美国本科留学的申请流程

把它写下来

个人文章的设计结构并不固定于某一个正确的方式。通过给您自己充足的时间来使用不同的词语、句子和段落重新安排您的思路,您将能够写出一篇代表您的批判性思维能力以及通过写作来表达自己的能力的文章。这两个都是必不可少的技能,录取官员高度重视这两个技能。

在美国,遵循文章组织的基本概念是非常重要的。确保将您的思路组织成紧密结合的段落,并在不同的想法之间使用有效的过渡。再次强调,由于您的读者可能感到疲惫和不知所措,因此务必确保您的文章结构和具体的字词选择能够引导他们阅读完您的陈述。

最后,注意您的语言。您应当使用您最好的学术英语表达,并留下充足的时间在最后进行精炼和定稿。这时候您应当联系您在研究阶段中联系到的人,也就是同意阅读您的初稿的朋友、家人和专业人士。

相比于索取一般性的反馈,您更应该让他们分享针对三个具体方面的看法:

  • 您的语言使用(措辞选择)
  • 您文章的内容(主题、故事)
  • 您文章的结构(思路组织)

展望您的未来

个人文章部分是您的留学申请中的一项挑战。但它同时也是一个学术锻炼。个人文章的撰写将让您为您在美国的教育中所涉及的所有写作任务做好准备。

这同时也是进行个人反思和成长的一个很好的机会。利用这个时间来探索您的历史、动机和目标,并对您在美国的未来学习生活感到兴奋!

Mariel S. Tavakoli 是一位 WES 专家大使,她最近刚从牛津大学毕业。

WES Advisor Blog

Trusted Advice for Academic and Professional Success

How to Write Personal Essays for U.S. Universities

Friday | March 22, 2019 | by Mariel S. Tavakoli

Mariel S. Tavakoli is a WES Expert Ambassador who recently graduated from the University of Oxford. Her studies focused on helping international students prepare personal statements in English.

Below, she provides essential insights about how to prepare a personal essay that will improve your chances of earning admission to a college or university in the United States.


When you are applying for an undergraduate program, graduate program, or scholarship, the written portion of the application requires you to reflect on your past experiences and connect them to your future goals. This portion might be called a personal statement, personal essay, or statement of purpose.

But no matter what it is called, and no matter what topic you are assigned, the true inspiration for your personal essay will always be the same: you.

Every admissions officer really wants to hear your unique voice, story, and vision. So, while there is no wrong way to approach an essay topic (which might also be referred to as a “prompt,” or come in the form of a question), there are ways to make the writing process more manageable—and the end result more powerful.

Here are some essential tips that will help you prepare an excellent personal essay for colleges and universities in the United States.

Give Yourself Time

The most important thing you must remember to do is give yourself enough time to write.

Many U.S. high school students begin writing their essays in the spring or summer—about six months before the application deadline. If this is the first academic essay you are writing in English, or your first time writing for an audience that is based in the United States, the most important thing you can do is to start thinking, researching, and writing in advance.

The process of writing a personal essay begins long before you grab a pen and paper.

It starts with reading: The more that you read examples of personal essays in English, the more likely it is that you will figure out how to express your unique voice clearly in this language. This will also help you discover the appropriate level of academic expression and formality. Of course, you will need to do some research to find a variety of successful sample essays to study. Do not forget to consider that when planning the total time you will need.

Next: Identify teachers, parents, and friends who are fluent in written English and/or know what is expected of personal essays in the United States. Ask if they will agree to give you feedback. Sometimes, there is a designated staff member at your target school in the U.S. who can send you specific resources or provide more direct help; it is always worth asking the admissions office if this is the case for international applicants. You should be in touch with all of these potential candidates before you start writing; do not wait until you are ready to hand them something to read! (You will follow up and ask for their feedback once you complete your first draft.)

With plenty of time to understand, plan, write, and revise, you will write the best personal essay possible. This also helps you prevent stress during the application process.

Related Reading

How to Get Into Graduate Schools in the U.S.

Understand Your Audience

Have you heard the following terms when reading about the personal essay?

  • Good fit
  • Stand out
  • Tell your story

In order to understand these terms and your audience—university admissions officers—it is important to understand the admissions process.

U.S. universities have traditionally taken a holistic approach to admissions. In other words, your admissions decision is not based on your marks or test scores alone. Rather, admissions officers attempt to get a 360-degree understanding of who you are and how you would align with the other students and the university culture as a whole. This is what is meant by a “good fit” with a university.

To understand what an admissions officer might be looking for, your first stop is the university itself. Check out its website, follow its social media pages, read testimonies from alumni, get in touch with current students, read the university’s strategic plan. As you do, make note of common phrases and shared language. Store it away for when you are reflecting and writing later on.

While a holistic admissions process is a great way to get to know applicants, it also means that admissions officers have to read hundreds of applications in a day. Your personal story must therefore “stand out” from the competition. Although it can be uncomfortable, articulating your strengths and highlighting your most important accomplishments will make a strong impression, even on the most tired admissions officer. Use direct language and specific examples to showcase the most original things about your personality, personal history, and future ambitions.

But no matter what, the best way to appeal to admissions officers is by being truthful and genuine. So next, let us dive into an entire section dedicated to “telling your story”…

Learn More: Get the E-Guide

Funding Your Education in the U.S.

Find Your Story

“Telling your story” to an unknown admissions officer is not an easy task. A personal essay requires you to be personal and professional at the same time. You also have to weave your experiences and goals together into a cohesive narrative.

The first step is to take an inventory of your life thus far. You might already have a lot of this information organized on your CV. Use this to group your experiences into categories: job titles, responsibilities, lessons learned, types of impact, special skills, hobbies and interests, and so on.

However, your personal essay should not read like a list or résumé. To avoid this, choose one or two experiences that relate to the topic of your personal essay and excite you the most. Explore how you can connect other strong points from different categories back to it. Begin thinking about how you might weave these together into one compelling narrative.

For example, pay attention to how one experience may have led to a realization, inspired a behavior, or triggered a memory. Even the smallest personal details can be a gateway or framework to the rest of your essay.

It is important for your personal essay to balance authenticity (what is important to you) with what admissions counselors might expect from a viable applicant. To start, any leadership roles or times when you went above and beyond your responsibilities are important to highlight. Then, think back to your research on the university and what language people used to describe the campus or community. Do any of your experiences fit with these qualities?

Again, do not be afraid to show off these accomplishments and impress those admissions officers!

Next Steps: Watch the Webinar

Understanding the Admissions Process in the U.S.

Write It Down

There is not one right way to structure your personal essay. By giving yourself plenty of time to rearrange your thoughts with different words, sentences, and paragraphs, you will write an essay that represents your ability to think critically, as well as your ability to express yourself in writing. Both of these are essential skills and they are highly valued by admissions officers.

In the United States, it is important to follow basic concepts of essay organization. Make sure to group your thoughts into cohesive paragraphs, and use effective transitions between different ideas. Again, because your reader is tired and overwhelmed, it is important to make sure that your essay structure and specific word choices guide them through your statement.

Lastly, focus on your language. You should use your best academic English, and leave plenty of time at the end to refine and proofread. This is when you should contact the people that you identified in your research phase—the friends, family, and professionals who agreed to read your first draft.

Instead of asking for general feedback, ask them to share their thoughts on three specific things:

  • Your language use (word choice)
  • Your essay’s content (theme, story)
  • Your essay’s structure (organization of ideas)

Envision Your Future

The personal essay portion of your application is a challenge. But it is also a great academic exercise. Writing your personal essay prepares you for all of the writing you will do as part of your education in the U.S.

This is also a great time for personal reflection and growth. Take this time to explore your history, motivation, and goals—and get excited about your future studies in the United States!

Mariel S. Tavakoli, a WES Ambassador, is a recent graduate of the University of Oxford.