WES continues to receive academic documents from institutions around the globe, including 7,000 that now send us secure, digital files. For updates, visit our notifications page.

WES Advisor Blog

助你取得学业职业成功

避免在美国遭遇签证骗局的 10 个小贴士

星期三 | 2019-07-10 | by Nadine C. Atkinson-Flowers

young asian man student holds mobile phone

您是否计划在美国留学深造或进行就业?

您的梦想并非遥不可及,但是在实现梦想的路上,也可能会遇到一些别有用心的人。犯罪分子在制造与签证有关法律和经济陷阱方面已极为老练。

了解常见骗局是避免您中招的最佳途径。

以下是 10 个最常见的签证骗局,以及如何避免的小贴士:

1.学习关于多元化移民签证计划的知识。

多元化移民签证项目Diversity Immigrant Visa Program,简称 DV 项目)是面向传统上美国移民率较低的国家的公民提供的一项特殊计划。如果符合资格,您可继续了解更多的在线资源并开始申请流程。请谨记,申请 DV 项目无需费用,因此试图向您收取费用的任何网站或个人都有存在诈骗嫌疑。

由于 DV 项目候选人是从申请者中随机选取,因此,使用“签证顾问”并不能确保申请成功。付费代理人可帮助您完成在线申请表格填写以及找到关于项目的可靠信息,但您必须自行完成下一个步骤,即前往您当地大使馆或领事馆参加面试环节。面试完成后,您将收到一个确认号码。您将用该号码继续查询申请进度。如果您正在申请 DV 项目,请注意付费签证顾问的局限性。

访问 Travel.State.Gov 详细了解这些步骤以及该签证机会。

2.认识到您需要完全为自己的行为负责。

在证明进入美国的原因是去上学后,您可获得学生签证;同时您必须承诺遵守移民局的法律法规。一旦来到这里,您就应该为自己的选择负责,这意味着,您犯下的错误可能会影响您的签证状态。

例如,假如事实证明您就读的学校并非合法院校,您将无法证明您是不知情的。

到达美国前,您需要确保您被录取的是一所合法的、经认可的 院校。美国国土安全部近期通过设立虚假的大学的方法,来揭露签证诈骗行为。根据新闻报道,招生人员和学生都被移民和海关执法局逮捕。如果经判定学生需要为参与这项诈骗负责,学生可能被驱逐出境。

立即观看网络讲座:获取经认证的学历学位

如何使用您的学历学位认证

3.谨防虚假学校,或签证工厂

正如上文小贴士所述,您有责任验证您将就读学校的真实可靠性。一种非常常见的骗局是,一家虚假的公司假扮成一所大学,以引诱国际学生。这种套路被称为“签证工厂”。

这些诈骗组织声称自己是经认证的学校,但其真实目的在于从渴望取得学生签证的人身上骗取钱财。您甚至可能会想,即便某所学校看似可疑,只要仍算在学生签证内,也可进行申请。这种想法绝不可取。因为在美国,使用真实的签证就读虚假学校实际上也是一种犯罪。

故意利用这些虚假公司的罪行的任何学生所面临的可能后果就是被驱逐出境,因此务必确保您准备就读的学校是合法的且经授权可接收国际学生。

可疑信号包括无法在网上找到关于学校课程的综合信息,无法轻易找到关于学生组织和校友会的信息,以及无法与各类相关人员进行直接联系。

阅读我们的研究文章,详细了解这种骗局:“文凭工厂:应对高等教育中最为棘手问题的 9 个策略”。

4.履行您的具体签证类别义务。

赴美留学学生的主要签证类别包括:F、J 及 M签证。

F-1 签证适用于打算以全日制形式就读经认证院校的人士。

该院校必须经美国政府授权可接收国际学生。此类学生不允许在入学第一个学年内参加校外工作。但是,每周可在校园内工作一定时数。同时还有一些其他条件。例如,在第一年学习后,全日制国际学生仅可接收具体专业类别或类型的就业。无论是否受到雇佣,他们都必须维持自己的学生身份。

J-1 类别也就是人们口熟能详的交流访问学者签证。根据美国公民及移民服务局 (USCIS) 规定,J-1 允许国际人士进入美国参加经过具体批准的项目,并且是“出于教学、授课或演讲、学习、观察、开展研究、咨询、演示特殊技能、接受培训,或接受研究生医疗教育或培训的目的”。J-1 是一个非移民签证类别。访问项目结束时,J-1 签证持有者必须返回祖国,因为合法停留期限已结束。

M-1 签证类型适用于职业培训或其他非学术学习。

任何就业均必须提前获得批准,并与具体学习领域相关。

签证流程受美国政府控制,但赞助机构(例如雇主)应在各个步骤中提供协助,包括提供文件证明。仔细阅读并理解您的签证的条款。并非每位学生签证持有者都有权在美国工作。

相关阅读

为 F-1 签证面试做准备

持有 F-1 签证的学生就业选择

5.提防向您承诺积极结果的资源。

学生、工作或移民签证申请的结果无法被预测。

许多因素都将影响申请的成败。有时候,在最后关头需要通过提交额外文件来协助大使馆做出最终决定。不同类型和个人情况将导致等待期产生很大差异,而市场上的专家无法发挥任何作用。

如果您被要求支付大笔金额,来确保签证成功,这就是一个危险信号。始终警惕以结果为导向的骗局。

6.利用免费资源。

美国大使馆、美国政府办公室以及许多当地图书馆都提供关于当前奖学金、拨款、研究奖学金及其他机会的免费资源。如果您准备前往美国留学,您还可咨询来自美国校园的资源。

另一项重要的资源是 USCIS 网站,该网站提供大量关于签证类型的信息。

所有移民表格都可通过该网站免费进行下载。表格和信息将定期更新,因此请经常查看网站。切勿支付任何费用以获取移民表格副本。提防任何主动向您出售可在 USCIS 上免费获取信息的任何人。

7.切勿将费用和速度置于常识之上。

国际学生有时会将信任托付给承诺快速给出签证结果的人或组织。他们无比希望这些组织做出的承诺是真的,因此选择相信并付钱,甚至有违自身的良好判断力。

有些人可能会看似帮助学生获取帮助、资源并进行处理,且价格似乎较低。但是,他们可能未传达重要信息,例如签证费不可退还这一事实,以及可能产生相关的费用(例如,复制和公证文件以及由经认证的机构进行海外文凭认证等项目的费用)。

尽管他们不是在诈骗,但也并非可靠的信息来源。建议学生可选择收费更加透明的咨询或机构,因为他们对于处理签证事宜的费用问题更加诚实。

更多信息:阅读电子指南

奖学金指南

8.尽早开始探索您的选项。

如果您希望在完成学业后留在美国,务必尽早探索您的选项。有些选择具有时效性,例如寻求庇护。其它则可能需要您的原籍国政府提供豁免。

如需从一个学生签证类型变更为另一个,您必须申请并提交许多规定文件。您所就读的院校无法任意变更您学生签证的条款和条件,因此务必确保您在相关方面获取最佳、最准确的建议。

您学校的国际学生和学者服务办公室应能向您提供指南或是帮助您与更擅长处理您的具体情况的某个人建立联系。

9.避免分享您的个人信息。

切勿在未彻底确认请求的合法性的情况下,披露关于您个人身份的信息或是支付费用。您可能会开始收到来自于不道德网站的电子邮件,声称只要您提供特定信息或是支付特定费用,他们就能加快签证流程。(如果您已看到过诸如此类的信息,切勿相信。只有美国移民部门能控制完成申请的速度。)

当然,每个人都还有可能遇到一些常见的威胁,比如身份诈骗和金融盗窃。因此,在准备到海外生活或留学时,小心谨慎绝对不是坏事。涉及到申请学生签证、安排交通以及与学校对接时,您将会与许多不熟悉的机构组织合作,您甚至可能需要使用第二语言进行沟通。找一个安全的地方,例如实体文件夹或在线电子表,来记录您已在合作或是之后可能需要联系的人和公司的姓名/名称。然后,如果您从未听说过的某个人突然与您联系,即可及时分辨对方的身份。

有些骗局制造者还可能会使用真实公司的名称,因此在相信他们自称的身份前,务必在网上查验其姓名、职称甚至电子邮箱地址,尤其是如果对方正在索取钱财,或是做出好到令人难以置信的承诺时。

10.进行调查研究,同时也相信您的直觉。

如果要提供最后一个建议,那就是:相信您的直觉。

所有其他方法都失败时,您通常可信任自己的直觉,带您远离骗局制造者,走向更加道德、合理的选择,从而帮助在您在美国实现成功。

Nadine C. Atkinson-Flowers是一位WES大使,也是一名美国移民律师。

WES Advisor Blog

Trusted Advice for Academic and Professional Success

10 Tips to Avoid Visa Scams in the U.S.

Wednesday | June 12, 2019 | by Nadine C. Atkinson-Flowers

visa scams

Are you planning to further your education or seek employment in the United States?

It is possible to make your dreams come true—but there are also a lot of people who might try to take advantage of you along the way. Criminals have gotten very sophisticated about creating legal and financial traps that can prevent you from obtaining a visa and fulfilling your goals.

Learning about common scams is the best way to avoid the mistakes that might ruin your future.

Here are 10 of the most common visa scams, as well as tips to avoid them:

1. Educate yourself about the Diversity Immigrant Visa Program.

The Diversity Immigrant Visa Program (DV Program) is a unique program that is only available to citizens of countries that have traditionally low rates of migration to the U.S. If you qualify, you can pursue additional online resources and start the application process. Keep in mind that there is no cost to apply for the DV Program—so any website or individual that tries to charge you is probably running a scam.

Because DV Program candidates are selected randomly from among those who apply, using “visa consultants” is no guarantee of success. Paid agents can help you complete the online application form, and locate credible information about the program, but you must complete the next step yourself. That is an interview, and it will take place at your local embassy or consulate. When you complete your interview, you will receive a confirmation number. You will use it to continue monitoring your application. Be aware of the limitations of paid visa consultants if you are applying to the DV Program.

Learn more about these steps and this visa opportunity at Travel.State.Gov.

2. Consider that you are fully accountable for your own actions.

You can only get a student visa if you testify that your reason for entering the United States is to go to school; you must also promise to comply with immigration authorities. The choices you make once you get here are your responsibility—which means that making mistakes can jeopardize your visa.

For example, you will not be able to claim ignorance if it turns out that the school you enroll in is not a legitimate institution. You need to make sure you are enrolling in a legitimate, accredited institution before you arrive. The U.S. Department of Homeland Security recently set up fake universities as part of undercover attempts to expose visa fraud. According to news reports, both recruiters and students were detained by Immigration and Customs Enforcement. Students could have been deported if it was determined that they were at fault for participating in this scam.

Watch Now: Get Verified Credentials

How to Use Your Credential Evaluation

3. Beware of fake schools—or “visa mills.”

As the tip above mentioned, it is your responsibility to verify the credibility of the school you are hoping to attend. There is a very common scam where a fake company poses as a college in order to attract international students. This setup is known as a “visa mill.”

These fraudulent organizations claim to be accredited schools, but their real aim is to take money from people who are desperate for student visas. You might even think that a school seems suspicious, but decide to apply anyway as long as it still counts toward a student visa. This is not a good idea, since using that real visa to attend a fake school is actually a crime in the United States.

One possible consequence for any student who is found guilty of deliberately using one of these fake companies is deportation—so make sure the school you are slated to attend is legitimate and authorized to accept international students.

Red flags include not being able to find comprehensive information about classes online, not easily locating information about student organizations or alumni, and not being able to make direct contact with various relevant personnel.

Learn more about this scam in our research article: “Diploma Mills: 9 Strategies for Tackling One of Higher Education’s Most Wicked Problems.”

4. Fulfill the obligations of your specific visa category.

The main visa categories for students coming to the U.S. are: F, J, and M.

The F-1 visa is for those planning to attend an accredited institution full time. That institution must be authorized by the U.S. government to accept international students. Such students are not allowed to work off-campus during their first academic year; however, they can work on campus for a limited number of hours each week. There are other conditions as well. For example, after the first year of study, international full-time students can accept only specific categories or types of employment. Employed or not, they must maintain their student status.

The J-1 classification is also popularly known as the visa for exchange visitors. According to U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), the J-1 allows international persons into the U.S. to participate in specifically approved programs “for the purpose of teaching, instructing or lecturing, studying, observing, conducting research, consulting, demonstrating special skills, receiving training, or to receive graduate medical education or training.” The J-1 is a nonimmigrant visa classification. At the end of the program, the J-1 visa holder must return home, as the lawful period of stay has ended.

The M-1 visa type is for vocational or other non-academic study. Any employment must be authorized in advance and relate to the specific area of study.

The visa process is controlled by the U.S. government, but the sponsoring entity (for example, an employer) is expected to assist in all the various steps, including providing documentary proof. Carefully read and understand the terms of your visa. Not every student visa holder is entitled to work in the U.S.

Related Reading

Preparing for the F-1 Visa Interview

Employment Options for Students on the F-1 Visa

5. Be wary of resources that promise you a positive outcome.

It is impossible to predict the outcome of an application for a student, work, or immigrant visa.

Many factors go into a successful application. Sometimes additional documents are requested at the last minute to aid in making a final determination. Wait periods vary widely between form types and individual circumstances—and these cannot be influenced by outside specialists.

If you are being asked to pay large sums of money, ostensibly to ensure success, that is a red flag. Always beware of outcome-focused scams.

6. Make use of free resources.

U.S. embassies, U.S. government offices, and many local libraries offer free resources on current scholarships, grants, fellowships, and other opportunities. If you are coming to the U.S. for school, you can also consult with resources on-campus.

Another valuable resource is the USCIS website, which offers a lot of information about visa types. All immigration forms are available for free download through the site. Forms and information are regularly updated, so check the site often. Never pay to receive copies of immigration forms. Beware of anyone offering to sell you information that is freely available from USCIS.

7. Do not put cost and speed above common sense.

International students sometimes put their trust in people or organizations that promise rapid results. They want the promises that these organizations make to be true so badly that they trust them—and pay them—even against their better judgment.

Some people can actually help connect students with support, resources, and processing; and their prices might seem low. However, they may fail to communicate important information, such as the fact that visa fees are non-refundable, and that there are related costs (for example, the cumulative costs of getting documentation copied and notarized, getting overseas education assessed by accredited agencies, and so on).

Though they are not running a scam, they are not trustworthy sources of information, either. Students might do better by choosing an advisor or organization that costs more up-front, because they are more honest about how much processing a visa can cost.

More Information: Read the E-Guide

Funding Your Education

8. Explore your options early on.

If you think you would like to remain in the U.S. after completing your studies, it is important to explore your options early. Some options are time sensitive, such as seeking asylum. Others might require a waiver from the government in your home country.

To change from one student visa category to another, you must apply and submit many required documents. The institution you attend cannot arbitrarily change your visa’s terms and conditions, so make sure you are getting the best, most accurate advice where this is concerned.

Your school’s office for International Student and Scholar Services should be able to either provide guidance or put you in contact with someone who is better equipped to handle your specific situation.

9. Avoid sharing personal information.

Do not disclose information about your personal identity or pay fees without thoroughly checking that the request is legitimate. You might start getting emails from unscrupulous sites saying that they can expedite the visa process as soon as you send certain information or pay certain fees. (If you have already seen messages like this, do not believe them. Only U.S. immigration authorities can control the speed with which they complete applications.)

Of course there are also traditional threats that everyone faces, like identity fraud and financial theft—so it does not hurt to be overly cautious as you prepare to move or study abroad. When it comes to applying for student visas, arranging for transportation, and working with schools, you will be working with numerous institutions that are unfamiliar; you might even be communicating in a second language. Find a secure place, like a physical folder or online spreadsheet, to keep track of the names of people and companies with whom you are already working or may need to contact at a later date. Then you will know if someone you’ve never heard of is suddenly reaching out to you.

There may also be scam artists using the names of real companies, so be sure to look up people’s names, titles, and even email addresses online before trusting that they are who they say they are—especially if they are asking for money or making promises that sound too good to be true.

10. Do your research—but trust your instincts.

If there is a last piece of advice to offer, it would be this: Trust your instincts.

When all else fails, you can usually trust your own intuition to lead you away from scam artists and toward the more ethical, rational choices that will help you pursue a successful path in the U.S.

Next Steps: Watch the Webinar

U.S. Undergraduate Admissions for International Students

Nadine C. Atkinson-Flowers practices law in Jamaica and is an immigration attorney in the U.S. She is also an Expert Ambassador for WES.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of World Education Services (WES).