WES continues to receive academic documents from institutions around the globe, including 7,000 that now send us secure, digital files. For updates, visit our notifications page.

WES Advisor Blog

助你取得学业职业成功

在美国与加拿大读博的差异

星期三 | 2018-02-14 | by StudyPortals

differences between PhD studies in the U.S. and Canada

北美地区常被视为全球教育,研究和创新的中心。这吸引了世界各地有志于就读博士学位的留学生。事实上,由于2016年的美国大选的影响,去年在加拿大的国际学生入学率上升了11%。尽管美国的社会政治环境现在还有所争议,但美国的大学仍吸引着国际学生。 2016-2017年“Open Doors Report”的数据显示美国仍有近291,000名国际学生。

根据这份数据,无论在美国还是加拿大,大多数国际学生都在两个学习领域选择专业:商科business和工程学engineering。

你应该选择哪个国家攻读博士学位呢?最好的方法是分析每个国家的优缺点。在这篇博文中,我们将通过描述美国和加拿大博士学习的主要区别来帮助你做出合适的决定。

入读美国与加拿大博士课程的要求

美国和加拿大博士学位的一般录取要求是相似的。通常需要以下材料:

  • 优异的研究生入学考试成绩,如GMATGRE
  • 语言成绩证明(美国通常要求英文,加拿大则要求英文或法文)Language certificates
  • 申请文书(个人陈述,目标陈述等)Statement of purpose
  • 研究计划Research proposal
  • 推荐信Letters of recommendation
  • 写作范例Writing sample

尽管在加拿大或美国博士学位之间的大多数差异都直观地体现在项目设置上,但其中有两个关键差异可能会左右你对其中一个国家的偏爱:

  • 首先,在美国申请博士学位,不强制要求你已经完成硕士学位,而在加拿大则是必要的。在美国,博士课程的结构通常较长,并包括部分硕士课程,所以美国的大学可以接受只有学士学位的申请者。而在加拿大,没有硕士学位的学生很少能够攻读博士学位。例外是当你入读理学硕士时,可以在第一年后改成攻读博士学位。
  • 尽管研究课题是美国招生的重要部分,但博士生预计将在第二年或第三年开始着手于他们的论文和研究。相反,在加拿大,博士生在项目开始后就马上有机会进行自己的研究和论文撰写。

在加拿大读博是什么样的体验?

在加拿大的博士项目中,学生会参加各种小组研讨会group seminar,可能每周需要大约20小时的阅读时间。此外,你需要从项目一开始就对论文进行研究,发表多篇同行评论文章,并积极申请奖学金来进一步支持研究工作。

此外,你很可能还会作为教学助理(Teaching Assistant, TA)和研究助理(Research Assistantships , RA)为教授提供帮助,这可能每周需要长达20个小时。虽然两者相加,每周40小时是一个比较合理的博士生工作时间,但根据项目之间的不同,你可能会发现自己的工作时间比这更多。

加拿大的博士课程通常设计为四年左右,给自己预留五年或更长时间内完成博士学位可能更现实一些。记住这一点很重要,因为有些课程不允许延长资助时间,所以你可能须为完成学习所花费的额外年份支付学费。

在美国读博是什么样的体验?

美国博士项目的情况有些不同,因为没有限时完成博士项目的时间压力。完成博士学位的时间通常为五至六年。如果需要更长的时间,这不是问题,因为你可以在完成项目之前保留资金。该系统非常灵活,一些学生在三年内完成了大量研究,而其他学生则可能需要长达八年甚至十年。

和加拿大一样,美国的博士课程包括研讨会,但更多的是研讨课,再加上大量阅读和研究。此外,你通常需要发表经同行评议的文章,但它们在美国的重要程度不及在加拿大。

虽然每周平均40小时的工作也是美国的常态,但与加拿大的主要区别在于,教学和评分责任往往会占用学生更多的时间。这也意味着投入自己的论文研究的时间会被压缩。

加拿大与美国博士项目的费用对比

博士项目的费用是学生面临的最重要的问题之一,无论他们是国际生还是美国或加拿大的学生。在加拿大,博士项目的平均成本要比美国便宜很多。但如果你是一名国际学生,这两个国家的费用都会比本国学生高。以下是国际学生在美加攻读博士支付的平均学费:

  • 美国平均学费:每年$ 28,000 – $ 40,000美元
  • 加拿大平均学费:每年$ 8,000 – $ 20,000加元

美国的优势在于其强大的资金实力。此外,在美国,通过获得TA或RA的职位,学生将自动获得学费豁免。

在加拿大,学生通常必须根据学业成绩申请奖学金。这些奖学金可以包括学费,研究费用和偶尔的生活费用。有时当TA和RA可以支付部分或全部研究费用。

这两个国家的生活成本各不相同,但平均而言,居住在加拿大比在美国便宜。下面是一组关于两国生活成本的数据:

  • 美国的平均学生生活成本:每月1,200 – 2,500美元
  • 加拿大的平均学生生活成本:每月$ 1,000 – $ 1,500加元

加拿大的博士学位与美国的就业选择

如果你曾经了解过就读博士学位的情况,你可能知道博士课程更多的需要保持对研究和教学的热情。许多报告显示,大多数行业对仅拥有学士或硕士学位的员工同样感到满意。此外,许多统计数据显示,博士毕业生在学习后不会立即获得更多收入,从长远来看,从事博士研究的经济利益更为明显。

在我们的比较中,美国的博士比加拿大博士更受欢迎。最近的数据显示,加拿大需要博士学位的职位数量小于应届博士毕业生的人数,且工作大部分在学术和研究部门内。但请勿灰心,这仅意味着你必须在竞争更加激烈的市场中为自己正名。

美国的商业环境对于博士毕业生能给公司带来的附加值有更多的了解,因此,博士学位持有人可以获得在学术和研究部门之外更多的工作机会。

加拿大和美国的共同点

在美国和加拿大,学生都需要在博士课程中投入大量精力。如果你认为博士学位和学士或硕士学位差别不大,你可能会遇到很多惊喜(和挑战)。幸运的是,美国和加拿大都有强大的国际学生组织和协会,可以帮助学生更好地融入博士项目,适应生活,并建立人际联系。事实上,无论你在哪个国家,我们都积极鼓励你加入这些人际网络并参与他们的活动。

另一个共同点是,学生的工作与生活的平衡,或者你对项目的满意度将取决于以下因素:

  • 研究领域
  • 所在部门
  • 导师

这三个因素能很大程度上影响学生对项目的满意度,因为:

  • 如果学生缺乏百分之百的动力来研究选择的课题,在这个领域进行繁重的研究工作很可能会给你的生活带来负面影响。
  • 所在部门会影响学生的财务状况和社会关系。此外,该部门与大学的关系会影响很多与学习有关的行政管理问题,包括学生可能会得到的津贴,助学金和奖学金。此外,你所在部门与行业的关系可能会影响你的职业前景。
  • 你的导师是你将与之密切合作的学者。一位好的导师乐意与学生交流,会对你的项目真正感兴趣,并且拥有相关知识和经验能够给你带来实际帮助。

在你决定好前往美国还是加拿大攻读博士学位之前,博士门户网站PhD Portal是寻找和比较加拿大和美国博士项目的重要资源。祝你在成为博士的路上一切顺利!

StudyPortals 是一个全球教育资源搜索平台。学生们可以在平台上搜索到全世界用英语教授的学位课程。

WES Advisor Blog

Trusted Advice for Academic and Professional Success

The Differences Between PhD Studies in the U.S. and Canada

Wednesday | February 14, 2018 | by StudyPortals

differences between PhD studies in the U.S. and Canada

North America is often seen as the epicenter of education, research, and innovation. This lures many prospective PhD students from all around the world. In fact, international student enrollment in Canada increased 11 percent in the last year, mainly as a result of the 2016 elections in the U.S. But despite the sociopolitical climate in the U.S., universities in the U.S. are still attracting international students. This is evidenced by the 2016-2017 data from the 2017 Open Doors Report, which revealed a total of almost 291,000 international students in the U.S.

According to the report, most international students chose the same top two areas of study, regardless of whether they studied in Canada or the U.S. The top subject areas were business and engineering.

Which country should you choose for your PhD? The best way to make a decision is to analyze the pros and cons of each country. In this blog post, we will help you arrive at a decision by describing the major differences between PhD studies in the U.S. and Canada.

Requirements for Admission to a PhD Program in the U.S. Versus Canada

The general admission requirements for a PhD in the U.S. and Canada are similar. Both countries usually require the following:

  • High score on a graduate admissions tests, such as the GMAT or GRE
  • Language certificates (English for the U.S., and English or French for Canada)
  • Statement of purpose
  • Research proposal
  • Letters of recommendation
  • Writing sample

Although most differences between pursuing a PhD in Canada or the U.S. will be visible during the program itself, there are two key differences that might make you favor one country over the other:

  • To apply for a doctoral degree in the U.S., a master’s degree is not necessary, whereas in Canada it is. U.S. universities accept students who have only a bachelor’s degree because the structure of PhD programs is typically longer and is designed to include part of the curriculum from master’s programs. Whereas in Canada, it is rare that students without a master’s degree can pursue a PhD. The main exception is when you enroll in a Master of Science degree program, you can switch to a PhD after the first year.
  • Although the research proposal is an important admissions component in the U.S., PhD students are expected to develop their theses and research during their second or third year. In contrast, in Canada, PhD students are expected to begin working on their theses as soon as they start their PhD program.

What to Expect as a PhD Student in Canada

In Canadian PhD programs, you will be expected to participate in small group seminars and you will likely spend about 20 hours per week reading. Additionally, you will be required to do research on your thesis from the start, publish several peer-reviewed articles, and proactively apply for fellowships and scholarships to further fund your research.

Moreover, it is likely you will also participate in Teaching Assistantships (TAs) and Research Assistantships (RAs), which might take up to 20 hours per week of your time. Although 40 hours per week is the average time you are expected to invest in your doctoral studies, depending on the program, you might find yourself working even more.

Although PhD programs in Canada are typically designed to last about four years, it is more realistic to expect that you will finish your doctorate in five or more years. This is important to remember because some programs do not allow for extended funding, so you might have to pay tuition for the extra years you take to complete your studies.

What to Expect as a PhD Student in the U.S.

Things are a bit different in U.S. PhD programs. In the U.S., there is no time pressure to complete your PhD program. The timeline to complete a PhD is typically five to six years. If it takes you longer, it is not a problem because you can keep your funding until you complete your program. The system is so flexible that some students finish their program in three years with extensive amounts of research, while others can take up to eight or even 10 years.

As in Canada, the PhD curriculum in the U.S. includes seminars, but more of them, and naturally, a lot of reading and research. Additionally, you will be asked to publish peer-reviewed articles, but they do not count as much in the U.S. as in Canada.

Although the average 40 hours’ work per week is also the norm in the U.S., the main difference with Canada is that teaching and grading responsibilities often take more of students’ time. This is tricky because it might mean that you do not have as much time as you would like to invest in your own research thesis.

The Financial Costs of a PhD in Canada Versus the U.S.

The financial aspects of doctoral programs are one of the most important issues students face, whether they are an international, U.S., or Canadian student. The average cost of a PhD program is a lot cheaper in Canada than in the U.S. However, if you are an international student, you should expect higher fees in both countries. Below are the average tuition rates that international students pay for PhD studies in each country:

  • Average tuition in the U.S.: $28,000 – $40,000 USD per year
  • Average tuition in Canada: $8,000 – $20,000 CAD per year

The advantage the U.S. has over Canada in this respect is that you are more likely to find a fully funded doctorate in the U.S. than in Canada. Plus, in the U.S., by securing a TA or RA position, you automatically receive a tuition waiver.

In Canada, students typically have to apply for scholarships based on academic merit. These scholarships can cover tuition fees, cost of research, and occasionally living costs. Sometimes TAs and RAs can further cover the cost of studies, either partially or totally.

Living costs vary in both countries, but on average, living in Canada is still cheaper than living in the U.S. To get an idea about what to expect in terms of living costs, below are some median figures:

  • Average student living costs in the U.S.: $1,200 – $2,500 USD per month
  • Average student living costs in the Canada: $1,000 – $1,500 CAD per month

Employment Options After a PhD in Canada Versus the U.S.

If you are looking to obtain a PhD, you probably know that a doctoral program is more about passion for research and teaching than anything else. Numerous reports show that most industries are just as happy with employees that hold only a bachelor’s or a master’s degree. Furthermore, many statistics show that PhD graduates do not earn more immediately after their studies and that the financial benefits of doing doctoral studies are more visible in the long run.

That being said, in our comparison, PhD studies in the U.S. have more favorable outcomes than in Canada. Recent data shows that the demand for employees with a doctoral degree in Canada is lower than the number of doctoral graduates. But this should not necessarily discourage you. It simply means that you will have to make a name for yourself in a more competitive market, given that most jobs in Canada for PhD graduates are available in the academic and research sectors.

The U.S. business sector is more educated about the added value a PhD graduate can bring to a company, and consequently, there are more jobs (outside of the academic and research sectors) available for holders of a doctoral degree.

Common Ground Between Canada and the U.S.

In both the U.S. and Canada, you will be required to put in a lot of hard work in your PhD program. If you imagine a PhD is going to be like a bachelor’s or master’s degree, you may be in for a lot of surprises (and challenges). Fortunately, both the U.S. and Canada have strong international student organizations and associations that can help you better integrate with your PhD program, adjust to life as a PhD student, and make connections. In fact, in both countries, you are actively encouraged to join such networks and partake in their activities.

Another aspect in common is that your professional success or work-life balance—basically, your overall satisfaction with the PhD program—will depend on the following factors:

  • Field of study
  • Department
  • Supervising professor

These three factors make a world of difference in your level of satisfaction with your PhD program because:

  • Your field of study influences your workload and can have a negative impact on your results if you are not 100 percent motivated to research the topic you choose.
  • Your department influences your finances and your social relations. It is with people in your department that you will spend the most time. Furthermore, the relationship the department has with the university influences a lot of the administrative issues related to your studies, including the stipends, grants, and scholarships that you are likely to receive. Additionally, the relationships your department has with the industry can influence your career prospects.
  • Your supervising professor is the scholar with whom you will work most closely. It is essential to have someone you can communicate with, who is genuinely interested in your project, and whose knowledge and experience are relevant for your research.

Now all you have to do is decide which country and program are right for you. The PhD Portal is a great resource for finding and comparing PhD programs in Canada and the U.S. Best of luck in pursuing your PhD studies!

StudyPortals is the global education search platform enabling students worldwide to search for English-taught degree programs anywhere in the world. Through our various portals, students can find comprehensive information about international education, allowing them to find the education opportunities that are best for them.