WES continues to receive academic documents from institutions around the globe, including 7,000 that now send us secure, digital files. For updates, visit our notifications page.

WES Advisor Blog

助你取得学业职业成功

在美国际学生的奖学金和贷款

星期三 | 2019-08-14 | by WES Advisor

loans for international students

赴美留学会带来一笔较大的经济开支。如果您已在美国居住,您可能已经深刻地意识到这一点。但是,大幅增加的高等教育成本对于国际学生来说尤其令人望而生畏。

WES Advisor与 MPOWER Financing 的社会影响总监 Maureen Klovers 进行了对话,探讨国际学生面临着的一些财务方面的挑战。在下文中,她提供的建议可帮助国际学生克服财务方面的压力,从而实现留学梦想。

是否只有美国公民才能获得经济援助?

Maureen只有永久居民才符合美国联邦 Sallie Mae 贷款的资格。Sallie Mae 贷款利率比较低,所以如果您或您的家长是永久居民,这个选择绝对不容错过。遗憾的是,这个选择不适用于移民或国际学生。

最需要援助的国际学生也无法符合大部分助学金项目的资格。但是如果表现优秀,有些大学将向国际学生授予奖学金。此外,许多大学将允许国际学生,尤其是研究生,担任研究或教学助理的职位。这些岗位通常可以帮助您支付学费,并会向参与者授予一小笔津贴,帮助其支付基本的生活费用。

最后,本科生和研究生每周最多可工作的时间均为 20 小时。这些工时通常是作为校园内的“勤工俭学”工作进行完成。助理工作和在校工作是减少在美国就读大学开支的绝佳方式。此外,这些经历将可为您的简历加分!

国际学生奖学金是否存在,应如何获得?

Maureen国际学生有几种获得的奖学金的途径。不过,您将必须付出一些额外的努力,因为这些奖学金相对较稀少且难以被找到。MPOWER 提供若干种专门面向国际学生的奖学金。除选择我们公司外,我还强烈推荐 IEFAFastWeb,这两者提供总价值 34 亿美元的 150 万份奖学金的获得机会。尝试输入您的学校、您的学位/专业以及您的原籍国作为检索词。

WES 也提供其自己的奖学金查找器工具,以帮助简化您的搜索。

以下是两个重要的小贴士:

  1. 首先,寻找您具有竞争优势的奖学金。寻找资格标准比较详细具体的机会,如果符合资格,您将发现您自己只需和较小的候选人群体进行竞争。
  2. 接下来,撰写一篇出色的文章!如果英语不是您的母语,提交前,让一位母语为英语的人帮助校对您的文章。作为一名奖学金提供者,我无法告诉您,我们收到过多少写得很差的文章(当然也收到许多很好的文章)。出色的文章的确可让您脱颖而出!

相关阅读:

美国留学奖学金指南

许多银行和私人贷款公司不与国际学生合作。为什么?

Maureen传统银行和私人贷款公司认为国际学生对于他们的商业模式来说风险太高。那是因为几乎所有国际学生(以及大部分移民)并不具有银行用于评估其风险的三个标准。

贷款的三个常见标准是:

  • 信用分数:一个高的信用分数意味着申请人拥有着及时偿还债务的历史。因此,他们在未来也更有可能这么做。银行会避免向信用分数较差或是没有信用分数的人士提供贷款。很多国家都没有对信用分数进行追踪。而且美国的银行通常无法评估或接受来自于其他国家的信用报告。(实用提示:信用分数在美国也可能被称为“FICO 分数”。)
  • 抵押:传统银行只在申请人拥有价值等于(或者通常超过)所贷款金额的抵押物时提供贷款。抵押物为一项资产,例如住房、汽车或是其他个人财产物件。可将一件抵押物进行抵押以获取贷款,然后银行将在申请人无法偿还贷款时扣押抵押物。如果借款人未能偿还款项,银行可将该资产扣押、出售并补偿银行损失。如前所述,美国高等教育非常昂贵,因此来自于发展中国家学生的家人通常没有足够的抵押物可覆盖贷款的价值。但是,即便他们有足够的抵押物,美国银行在法律上难以在外国对资产进行扣押,这意味着抵押物的安排无效。
  • 担保人:如果某个人没有足够的抵押物或是既定的信用历史,银行可能会接受担保人。担保人是愿意证明贷款接收人的可信度的具有良好信用或抵押物的个人,本质上来说,他们声明,因为他们对借款人的诚信有信心,所以愿意在其违约时替其偿还债务。担保人通常用于授权教育贷款,通常是学生家长。但这对于国际学生来说通常并不是一个选择,因为银行要求的是具有重大资产的美国国内担保人。

如果不符合任何这些贷款标准,也并不意味着您无法在美国获得贷款。

例如,MPOWER 便颠覆了这个模式。在可行的情况下,我们确实会看信用分数,但是我们不会区别对待没有信用的学生。我们也不要求抵押或担保人。相反,我们预估每位学生的未来收入潜力,并根据他们未来的偿还能力来提供贷款。我们可能也会参考学生就读的专业和现有的 GPA。正在接受培训以从事高需求领域工作的优秀学生通常会是贷款的优秀候选人。

你的美国GPA是多少?

使用iGPA换算工具

国际学生还可通过哪些其他方式确保用于留学的资金?

Maureen大部分国际学生必须依赖他们的朋友和家人来为未来提供资金。

他们通常通过以下各项组合以支付海外留学费用:

  • 家庭成员赠与或借贷
  • 个人储蓄,通常来自于本科生和研究生学习间的数年工作
  • 其本国银行所提供的贷款(但这些银行通常要求抵押物,因此这通常只是中高收入或高收入家庭的学生的一个选择)
  • 奖学金(见下文)
  • 北美创新性学生贷款公司所提供的贷款,如 MPOWER Financing

知道这一点可能会有所助益:MPOWER 是唯一一家向国际学生提供固定利率、无担保人贷款的贷款公司。事实上,U.S. News and World Report 将我们的产品评为面向国际学生的最佳贷款

无证件移民是否符合经济援助、贷款和奖学金的资格?

Maureen是的,无证移民 (undocumented immigrants) 符合经济援助、贷款和奖学金的资格。但是,找到并符合这些资源的资格对于他们来说极为复杂。

以下是可帮助无证移民找到经济援助的一些小贴士:

  • 查看您是否居住在面向被公立大学录取的无证学生提供州内学费的 17 个州和属地中的一个。在某些情况下,这些地区的无证移民可能也符合大学资助的经济援助的资格。
  • 联系您预期就读大学的无证件学生服务办公室。并非所有大学都设有这些办公室,而且有时他们的名称不同,但不失为绝佳的资源。
  • 了解我们College TrackGolden Door Scholars 所提供的奖学金。
  • 所有MPOWER 的奖学金项目都可面向符合“童年抵美者暂缓遣返”( DACA) 资格的学生提供。如果您具有 DACA 状态,可考虑进行申请。

比较好的利率是多少,应借多少钱,需要多长时间来偿还?

Maureen好问题。但是这三个部分的简短回答实际上都是:“看情况。”

“比较好的利率”将根据您的情况而有所不同。如果没有抵押或担保人,百分之 12 是比较好的利率。但是如果有抵押或担保人,您可能拿到更低的利率。无论如何,您应始终尝试获取尽可能最低的利率。

更长的还款期通常也更好,因为这样您的每月还款额将会较低,但是如果有办法的话,建议可尽早偿还贷款。您可能将节省数百或数千美元的利息付款。


示例:学生贷款利率是如何计算的

假设您以百分之 12 的年利率借了 20,000 美元。

再假设贷款期限或还款期为 10 年。在此情况下,您的每月还款额为 286.94 美元。

但请记住,每月还款额由两个部分组成:

  • 本金:实际借款金额的一部分
  • 利息:贷款方通过贷款赚取的款项

第一个月,您的利息付款将是 200 美元,您的本金付款将是 86.94 美元。下一个月,您的利息付款将会稍低一些:现在,百分之 12 的利息是基于剩余 19,913.06 美元的余额来进行计算。

每个月,您的 286.94 美元中更多的部分将会用于偿还贷款中的本金部分。

这个趋势将会在整个贷款周期内持续。在贷款初期,支付的主要是利息;在后期,支付的主要是本金。

现在,让我们来思考一下,如果您找到一份很棒的工作,并在三年后还清贷款,情况会如何:

在 36 个月结束时,在固定每月贷款还款额为 286.94 美元的情况下,您已支付 6,584.74 美元的利息。如果您偿还 16,254.90 美元的剩余本金余额,将不需要支付任何更多的还款额。

但是,如果您继续当前的还款安排,在偿还这些 286.94 美元的增加额的过程中,您将需要再支付 7,848.50 美元的利息!

三年后,您为 20,000 美元的学生贷款所偿还的金额为 26,584.74 美元。对许多人来说,这对于在美国接受教育是一笔值当的金额。但 10 年后,您所偿还的金额将为 34,433.24 美元。这是一个显著更高的金额。

只需记住:尽早还清贷款始终符合您的最佳利益!


理解贷款选择的关键在于关注您的每月还款额将是多少 — 在上学时和毕业后 — 并问您自己,您是否可承担这些还款。但需要注意的一点是:如果贷款公司提供的是浮动利率,您将无法预估未来还款额。


关于浮动利率

浮动利率的变化基于市场波动。浮动利率由两个部分所决定:

  • 基准
  • 价差

贷款公司通常会将“基准”与某个指数进行挂钩,例如伦敦银行同业拆放利率 (London Interbank Offered Rate , LIBOR)。您的“价差”可能为百分之 7。在此情况下,您的浮动利率的报价将是“LIBOR + 7%”。这意味着,如果 LIBOR 为百分之 4,那么您的利率将为百分之 11 — 这和百分之 12 的固定利率相比,听起来可能不差。但是如果 LIBOR 攀升至百分之 7,您的利率将为百分之 14!


另一方面,固定利率意味着您将始终支付同样的利率,因此您将准确地知道贷款还款额。这就是为什么我们推荐选择固定利率贷款(这是我们所提供的唯一一种贷款)。

对于寻求经济援助的国际学生来说最重要的建议是什么?

Maureen最重要的一条建议很简单:在对任何金融安排作出承诺前,理解您所同意的内容。客观地认识您偿还贷款的能力,并确保您尽可能地去获得奖学金,这将可为您节省上千美元。

虽然寻找经济援助可能是一个漫长的过程,但这也将回报给您改变人生的机会。务必了解您作为国际学生所拥有的选择,并确保理解您所同意的条款和条件。这在新国家尤其重要,因为您可能会与不使用您母语的贷款公司或银行合作。

涉及到作为国际学生来申请贷款时,信息是制胜的关键。我们希望本文中所提供的某些信息将可帮助您找到经济援助和奖学金,从而让您在所选择的美国高等院校进行学位深造。

祝君好运!

继续阅读:

加拿大高等院校奖学金:国际生指南

WES Advisor附属于拥有40年学位认证经验的非营利性机构World Education Services, Inc. 旨在为想要来到美国和加拿大的海外学生和技术移民提供留学,求职,移民方面的指导。

WES Advisor Blog

Trusted Advice for Academic and Professional Success

Scholarships and Loans for International Students in the U.S.

Thursday | July 18, 2019 | by WES Advisor

loans for international students

Pursuing a degree in the United States is expensive. That is well known if you already live in the country—but the steep costs of higher education can be especially prohibitive for international students.

WES Advisor spoke with Maureen Klovers, Director of Social Impact at MPOWER Financing, about some of the financial challenges that international students face. Below, she offers advice that can help international students overcome financial barriers to make their dreams a reality.

Do You Need to Be a U.S. Citizen to Receive Financial Aid?

Maureen: Only permanent residents qualify for federal Sallie Mae loans in the United States. The interest rate on a Sallie Mae loan is quite low, so if you and your parent(s) are permanent residents, you should definitely explore this option. Unfortunately, this option is not available for immigrants or international students.

International students are also unable to qualify for most need-based financial aid programs. However, some universities will award merit-based scholarships to international students. In addition, many universities will allow international students, particularly graduate students, to serve as research or teaching assistants. These positions often cover tuition and award participants with a small stipend to help cover basic living expenses.

Finally, both undergraduate and graduate students may work up to 20 hours a week. These hours are typically completed as on-campus “work-study” jobs. Assistantships and on-campus jobs are great ways to reduce the costs of attending college in the United States. Plus, the experience will be a great addition to your CV!

Do International Student Scholarships Exist—and How Can I Get One?

Maureen: There are several scholarships available to international students. You will have to put forth a little extra effort, though, as they are relatively rare and hard to find. MPOWER offers several scholarships exclusively for international students. In addition to our company’s options, I also highly recommend IEFA and FastWeb, which provide access to 1.5 million scholarships worth $3.4 billion USD. Try entering your school, your degree/major, and your country of origin as search terms.

WES also has its own Scholarship Finder tool that can help simplify your search.

Here are two important tips:

  1. First, seek scholarships for which you will be a competitive candidate. Look for opportunities with very narrow eligibility criteria; if you qualify, you will find yourself competing against a much smaller pool.
  2. Next, write an amazing essay! If English is not your primary language, have a native English speaker proofread your essay before you submit it. As a scholarship provider, I cannot tell you how many poorly written essays we receive (along with many terrific ones, of course). Great work really does stand out from the rest!

Read the Free E-Guide!

Funding Your Education in the U.S.

Many Banks and Private Lenders Will Not Work with International Students. Why?

Maureen: Traditional banks and private lenders see international students as too risky for their business model. That’s because nearly all international students (and most immigrants) do not possess the three things that banks use to assess their risk.

The three typical criteria for a loan are:

  • Credit scores: A high credit score means the applicant has a history of making timely payments on debt. Therefore, they are more likely to do so in the future. Banks avoid loaning money to people with either a poor credit score or no credit score. In many countries, credit scores are not tracked. And U.S. banks often are unable to access or accept credit reports from other countries. (As a helpful hint, credit scores might also be called “FICO scores” in the U.S.)
  • Collateral: Traditional banks lend only when an applicant has collateral with a value equal to (or generally exceeding) the amount loaned. Collateral is an asset, such as a home, car, or other piece of personal property. A piece of collateral can be pledged against the loan and then seized by the bank if the applicant fails to make payments. If the borrower fails to make payments, the bank can seize the asset, sell it, and recoup its losses. As we have stated, higher education in the U.S. can be very expensive—so the families of students from developing countries typically do not have enough collateral to cover the value of the loan. However, even if they do, U.S. banks find it legally difficult to seize property in a foreign country, which means the collateral arrangement simply does not work.
  • Cosigner: If someone does not have enough collateral or established credit history, banks might accept a cosigner. Cosigners are individuals with good credit or collateral who are willing to verify a loan recipient’s trustworthiness—essentially, they state that they are so confident of the borrower’s integrity, they are willing to pay the person’s debt if the individual defaults. Cosigners are often used to authorize education loans; they are typically the student’s parents. But this is not usually an option for international students because banks are looking for in-country cosigners with significant assets.

If you do not meet any of these loan criteria, it does not mean you cannot get a loan in the U.S.

For example, MPOWER turned this model on its head. We do look at credit scores when available—but we do not penalize students who have no credit. We also do not require collateral or a cosigner. Instead, we estimate each student’s future earning potential and offer loans based on their future ability to pay. We may also consider a student’s major and their existing GPA. Good students who are training to work in high-demand fields are often excellent candidates for a loan.

What Is Your U.S. GPA?

Find Out: Try the iGPA Calculator

What Are Other Ways International Students Can Secure Financing for School?

Maureen: To finance their futures, most international students have to rely on friends and family.

They usually pay for study abroad through a mix of:

  • Gifts or loans from family members
  • Personal savings, often from working several years between undergraduate and graduate studies
  • Loans from banks in their home country (although these banks typically require collateral, so this is usually only an option for students from middle-upper and upper-income families)
  • Scholarships (see below)
  • Loans from innovative student lenders in North America, like MPOWER Financing

It might help to know that MPOWER is the only lender that provides fixed-rate, no-cosigner loans to international students. In fact, U.S. News and World Report rated our product as the best loan for international students.

Are Undocumented Immigrants Eligible for Financial Aid, Loans, and Scholarships?

Maureen: Yes, undocumented immigrants are eligible for financial aid, loans, and scholarships. However, it is much more difficult for them to find and qualify for these resources.

Here are a few tips that can help undocumented immigrants find financial aid:

  • Check if you live in one of the 17 states and territories that offer in-state tuition to undocumented students enrolled in public universities. In some cases, undocumented immigrants in those regions might also qualify for university-funded financial aid.
  • Contact your intended university’s Office for Undocumented Student Services. Not all universities have these, and sometimes they have different names, but they are great resources.
  • Check out scholarships available from us, College Track, and Golden Door Scholars.
  • All of MPOWER’s scholarship programs are available to students who qualify under “Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals” (DACA). Consider applying if you have DACA status.

What Is a Good Interest Rate, How Much Should You Borrow, and How Long Should It Take to Pay Back?

Maureen: Great question. But the short answer to all three parts is actually: “It depends.”

A “good interest rate” will vary according to your situation. If you do not have collateral or a cosigner, 12 percent is a good interest rate. But if you do, you can probably get a much lower interest rate. Regardless, you should always try to secure the lowest interest rate possible.

A longer repayment period is generally better, too, as this will keep your monthly payments lower; however, you will want to pay off the loan early if you find the means. You might be able to save hundreds or thousands of dollars in interest payments.


Example: How Student Loan Interest Rates Work

Let’s pretend you borrow $20,000 USD at a 12 percent annual interest rate.

We can say that the loan term or repayment period is 10 years. In this case, your monthly payment would be $286.94 USD.

But remember, there are two parts to every monthly payment:

  • Principal: a portion of the actual amount borrowed
  • Interest: the money the lender earns from the loan

The first month, your interest payment will be $200 USD and your principal repayment will be $86.94 USD. The next month, your interest payment will be slightly lower: Now the 12 percent is calculated based on the remaining balance of $19,913.06 USD.

Each month, more of your $286.94 USD will go toward paying off the principal portion of the loan.

This trend continues throughout the life of the loan. At the beginning of the loan, you are paying mostly interest; at the end, you are paying mostly principal.

Now, let’s consider what happens if you get a terrific job and pay off your loan after three years:

At the end of 36 months, with a fixed monthly loan payment of $286.94 USD, you will have paid off $6,584.74 USD in interest. If you pay off the remaining principal balance of $16,254.90 USD, you will not have to make any more payments.

But if you continue on your current schedule, you will pay an additional $7,848.50 USD in interest as you pay off those $286.94 USD increments!

In three years, you will have paid back $26,584.74 USD on your $20,000 USD student loan. For many people, that’s a worthwhile amount to obtain an education in the United States. But in 10 years, you will have paid back $34,433.24 USD. That is a significantly higher amount.

Just remember: It is always in your best interest to pay off your balance early!


The key to understanding loan options is to focus on what your monthly payments will be—in school and after you graduate—and ask yourself if you will be able to afford these payments. One note of caution, though: if a lender is offering a variable interest rate, you will not be able to estimate future payments.


About Variable Interest Rates

Variable interest rates change based on market fluctuations. They are determined by two components:

  • the benchmark
  • the spread

Lenders usually peg the “benchmark” to an index, such as the London Interbank Offered Rate (LIBOR). Your “spread” might be 7 percent. In this case, your variable interest rate would be quoted as “LIBOR + 7%.” The means if LIBOR is 4 percent, then your interest rate is 11 percent—which might not sound bad, compared to a fixed rate of 12 percent. But if LIBOR shoots up to 7 percent, your interest rate will be 14 percent!


On the other hand, a fixed rate means you will always pay the same interest rate, so you will know exactly what your loan payments will be. That’s why we recommend a fixed-interest rate loan (which is the only kind of loan we provide).

What Is the Most Important Advice for International Students Seeking Financial Aid?

Maureen: The most important piece of advice is simply to understand what you are agreeing to before you commit to any financial arrangements. Be realistic about your abilities to pay back a loan, and make sure that you do everything possible to earn yourself a scholarship that can save you thousands of dollars.

Although finding financial aid can be a tedious process, it can also reward you with life-altering opportunities. It is important to understand your options as an international student and be sure you understand the terms and conditions to which you are agreeing. This is especially important in a new country, where you might be working with lenders or bankers who do not speak your primary language.

Information is the key to success when it comes to taking out loans as an international student. We hope that some of the information provided here will help you locate financial aid and scholarships so that you can pursue a degree at the college or university of your choice in the United States.

Good luck!

Next: Explore Student Loans in Canada

Financial Aid at Canadian Colleges and Universities

WES Advisor is an initiative of World Education Services, a non-profit organization with over 45 years of experience in international education. We provide advice and resources for international students and skilled immigrants to help them make informed decisions about education, employment, immigration, and integration opportunities in the U.S. and Canada.