WES continues to receive academic documents from institutions around the globe, including 7,000 that now send us secure, digital files. For updates, visit our notifications page.

WES Advisor Blog

助你取得学业职业成功

参加暑期海外学习项目的4个好处

星期五 | 2019-08-09 | by Anandamayee Singh

A shot of an asian student getting books in a library

对许多学生来说,在教室里面度过暑假似乎是对好天气和自由时光的一种浪费。但是如果这同时也是一个环游世界的机会呢?

暑期海外学习项目为学生提供多个优势,包括:学术、专业以及个人方面。

举例而言,马里兰大学对国际学生教育学院暑期项目的校友进行了调查。结果显示,百分之 97 的参与者认为,他们在暑期的海外学习经历后变得更加成熟,而百分之 96 的人表示此经历可提升他们的自信。多项研究也已表明,海外学习可增加学生在毕业后找到工作的可能性,提高 GPA,以及提高进入所申请大学的几率。

这些好处可能适用于:

  • 正在探索未来选择的高中生
  • 有兴趣提升毕业后前景的大学生
  • 有兴趣在其他国家进行研究生学位深造前尝试海外大学体验的学位持有者

以下是暑期项目对于国际学生的益处的另外四个示例:

1.您将体验国际文化和习俗。

暑期海外学习项目将学生直接代入新环境和文化 — 这通常是他们人生中的首次体验。

对于许多人而言,这种完全浸入式体验是开始学习当地习俗和适应环境的最快方式。除将通过大学项目其本身所学到的东西外,您还将通过与来自世界各地的同学直接交流意见以获得额外益处。

“认识来自于世界各地的人,可帮助我理解不同的文化和理念,并使我的思想更加开放。” [email protected] 高中全球年轻领导者学会的参与者 Parthasarthi Suri 说到。

在不同生活方式、理念和语言中感悟自我,确实可将您变成在待人处事方面更为开放的人。但这将让您更好地了解自身 — 例如如何解决问题,以及所秉持的价值观。

“走出舒适区,迈入新环境,[求知欲]和拥抱知识 — 这些正是成为一位领导者所必需的的踏脚石。” [email protected] 高中总编辑 Diana Drake 说到。

暑期项目也比全日制海外学习项目更加轻松。例如,组织者通常会为学生规划前往当地景点和餐馆的行程 — 这是您感知某座新城市文化的绝佳途径。

您将有机会同时了解新地方、国际同侪、学习主题以及重新认识您自己。想想这和待在家里的您相比将会有何不同!

2.您将学习克服挑战和变得更加独立。

独自离家可能是一个令人畏惧的体验。您需要和陌生人共用一个房间,学习如何管理课程间的时间,而最可怕的是,您要自己洗衣服!

这些责任可能充满挑战且让您不知所措。但是,学习如何管理自己的日程,将帮助您培养应对高等教育和职业发展的心理和情绪技能。

Delikatours 的老板、企业家 Anke Wright 在高中毕业后曾前往瑞士学习。她记得,煮饭、购物和修车等日常琐事都是重要的学习经历。这些经历还为她提供练习法语的机会。

“在瑞士一年后,回到家的我不仅拥有良好的语言技能(及法语证书),还变得很自信,因为我做到了!我向自己证明,我能够组织自己,能够自力更生,能够在外国找到朋友。”她说到。

将几周的时间投入到您自己的个人兴趣当中也会收效甚佳。这可以是有关于创意性的追求,比如写作和音乐,也可以是更加实践性的领域,例如创业和机器人。

有些人选择利用他们的假期来追求对于旅行的热情,探索海外学习所在大学城之外的区域。您可通过了解当地文化、社区和您所在的国家来更深入地了解您自己。这同时也是更多地练习当地语言的机会,正如 Anke 所发现的那样。

通过平衡学业与自我增值,这些项目不仅会为您的简历加分,还将帮助您在申请大学或下一次工作面试时感到更加自信。

电子指南

加拿大的大学和学院: 加拿大高等教育系统指南

奖学金指南

3.您将收获国际化的人际网络支。

海外学习项目的美妙之处在于您不是孤单一人。像您一样,许多同侪同学也将会被推入到一个远离家乡的陌生环境中。当熟悉的家人和好朋友都不在身边,这些与您有着类似兴趣的陌生人将会成为您的亲友团。

“我们在第一天努力发出彼此名字的正确读音,这是非常宝贵的场景,而现在就好像我们找到失散多年的家人一样。参加这个项目真的太棒了。我非常感激在这里建立的所有友谊。”全球年轻领导者学会校友 Ezgi Okutan 说到。

暑期项目也比正常大学环境中的课程要更加轻松。教授们通常不那么繁忙,这意味着他们有更多的时间可以和您互动。如果您把握这个机会,并加以利用以发展出一些有意义的关系,这将绝对有益于未来职业机会或是您的大学申请流程。

4.您将有机会与各种各样的团队进行协作。

大部分暑期海外学习项目都侧重于一个特定的学习领域。您将置身于一群和您兴趣相投的人之中。但是课堂环境可能会比您在祖国的高中或大学所习惯的环境要更加亲密。这可能意味着,您将会参加更多的小组任务。

但是,这是一件好事。悉尼大学的研究发现,在小组中进行任务可帮助学生练习例如决策、解决问题、沟通、批判性思维以及冲突解决等技能。

由于吸引了来自于世界各地的国际学生参加,这些项目以一种会让大部分标准大学手册相形见绌的方式来倡导多样性。您将有机会与来自于不同背景的人协作,从而拓宽解决课堂内外挑战的方法。

这种类型的环境鼓励每个人分享他们的经历和技能。归属于一个亲密的小组意味着内向的学生始终有发言的空间。您将会看到每个人为丰富海外学习经历而作出自己的贡献。

相关阅读

国际学生在美国实现成功的关键

暑期海外学习项目可为您介绍全新视角,并帮助您形成创造性解决方案。无论选择何种职业发展路径,这些技能对于在任何工作环境中实现成功以及建立更丰富的人际关系而言都不可或缺。

通过更多地了解世界,您可以更加理性地选择适合您的光明未来。

Anandamayee Singh

Anandamayee SinghBrainGain Magazine的一位内容作者。她居住在印度新德里。

WES Advisor Blog

Trusted Advice for Academic and Professional Success

4 Benefits of Summer Study Abroad Programs

Friday | May 17, 2019 | by Anandamayee Singh

A shot of an asian student getting books in a library

For many students, the prospect of spending summer break inside a classroom might seem like a waste of good weather and free time. But what if it is also an opportunity to travel the world?

Summer study abroad programs provide students with several advantages: scholastically, professionally, and even personally.

For example, the University of Maryland surveyed alumni from the summer program at the Institute for the International Education of Students. Results showed that 97 percent of the participants believed that they were more mature after their summertime study abroad experience, and 96 percent claimed that it increased their self-confidence. Several studies have also shown that studying abroad increases a student’s likelihood of landing jobs after graduation, improves their GPA, and increases their chances of getting into the universities of their choice.

These benefits may be applicable for:

  • High School Students, who are exploring their options for the future
  • College Students, who are interested in improving their outlook after graduation
  • Degree-Holders, who are interested in trying an overseas college experience before potentially pursuing a graduate degree in another country

Below are four more examples of how summer programs benefit international students:

1. You will be exposed to international cultures and practices.

Summer study abroad programs thrust students directly into new environments and cultures—often for the first time in their lives.

For many people, this total immersion is the fastest way to begin learning the local customs and adapting to the landscape. You will have the added benefit of exchanging ideas with classmates from around the world right away, in addition to everything you will be learning in the college program itself.

“Meeting people from all over the world helped me understand different cultures and beliefs, and made me a more open-minded person,” said Parthasarthi Suri, a participant in the [email protected] High School Global Young Leaders Academy.

Immersing yourself in different styles of living, beliefs, and languages will certainly make you more open-minded toward other people. But it will tell you more about yourself—such as how you tackle issues and the values you hold close.

“Stepping out of your comfort zone and being in a new place, [intellectual curiosity] and embracing knowledge—these are the stepping stones to becoming a leader,” said Diana Drake, managing editor of [email protected] High School.

Summer programs are also a little more relaxed than full-term study abroad opportunities. For example, organizers often plan excursions to local sites and eateries for students—which is a great way to immerse yourself in the culture of a new city.

You will have the chance to learn about a new location, your international peers, your topic of study, and yourself, all at the same time. Think about how you will be different than if you had stayed at home!

Watch the Webinars

The Canadian Higher Education System: Putting Your Education to Work

How to Use a Credential Evaluation for Employment, Education, and Licensing

2. You will learn to overcome challenges and become independent.

Being away from home is a daunting experience. You have to share a room with a stranger, learn how to manage time between your classes, and—scariest of all—do your own laundry!

These responsibilities can be challenging and overwhelming. However, learning how to manage your own schedule will help you develop the mental and emotional skills to handle higher education and professional advancement.

Entrepreneur Anke Wright, who owns Delikatours, studied in Switzerland after high school. She remembers that daily chores like cooking, shopping, and getting her car repaired were important learning experiences. They also gave her the chance to practice her French.

“After a year in Switzerland, I came back home not only with good language skills (and a French certificate), but also self-confidence—because I had done it! I had proved to myself that I was able to organize myself, to live on my own, and to find friends in a foreign country,” she said.

It is also very helpful to spend a couple of weeks devoting time to your own personal interests. Those may be related to creative pursuits like writing and music, or more practical areas such as entrepreneurship and robotics.

Some people choose to use their breaks to pursue a passion for travel, exploring areas beyond the college town where they are staying for study abroad. You can learn a lot about yourself by getting to know more about the local culture, community, and your host country. It is also a chance to practice the common language more, as Anke discovered.

By balancing schoolwork with personal enrichment, not only will these programs look great on your résumé, they will help you feel more confident when you apply to college or enter your next job interview.

Free E-Guides

A Guide to the Canadian Higher Education System

Funding Your Education

3. You will gain support from an international network.

The beauty of study abroad programs is that you are not alone. Just like you, quite a few of your fellow classmates will be thrust into an unfamiliar situation, far away from home. When family and close friends aren’t around, these strangers, who share your similar interests, will become your support system.

“It was very precious to see how we struggled to pronounce each other’s names on the first day, and now it was like we had found our long-lost families. It was great being in this program. I am extremely grateful for all [of the] friendships I’ve formed here,” said Ezgi Okutan, alum of the Global Young Leaders Academy.

Summer programs are also more relaxed than classes in normal university settings. Professors are usually less busy, meaning that they have more time to interact with you. If you explore this opportunity, and take the time to develop a few meaningful relationships, it could certainly help with future career opportunities or your college application process.

4. You will have the opportunity to collaborate with diverse teams.

Most summer study abroad programs are focused on a specific field of study. You will be among people who share your interests. But the class settings might be much more intimate than you are used to at your high school or college back home. This might mean that you will take part in a lot more group work.

However, this is a good thing. Research from the University of Sydney found that working in groups helps students practice skills such as decision-making, problem-solving, communication, critical thinking and conflict resolution.

Because they attract international students from all over the world, these programs promote diversity in a way that would put most standard college brochures to shame. You will have the chance to collaborate with people from all different backgrounds, expanding your own approach to challenges inside and outside of the classroom.

This kind of environment encourages everyone to share their experiences and skills. Belonging to an intimate group means that there is always room for introverted students to speak. You will see the way that everyone contributes to enrich the overall study abroad experience.

Related Reading

Expanding Your Comfort Zone as an International Student

Keys to Success for International Students in the U.S.

Summer study abroad programs introduce you to new perspectives and help you form creative solutions. Irrespective of the career path you choose, these skills are integral to succeeding in any working environment, as well as building richer interpersonal relationships.

By learning more about the world, you will be able to choose the future that is right for you.

Anandamayee Singh

Anandamayee Singh is a content writer for BrainGain Magazine. She is based in New Delhi, India.