WES Advisor Blog

助你取得学业职业成功

加拿大学术英语语言考试CAEL的 10 个小贴士

星期四 | 2019-01-31 | by Chris Koelbleitner

加拿大学术英语语言 (Canadian Academic English Language, CAEL) 评估是一项旨在衡量计划在加拿大接受高等教育的学生的英语水平考试。该考试是你的加拿大留学之旅的一个重要组成部分,因为它从学术的角度衡量了你使用和理解英语的能力。

CAEL 是唯一一项真实体现学生在加拿大学术场景下的语言使用情况的考试。这一考试评估了在加拿大高等院校的第一学年中,你对结合了听、说、读、写技能的学术任务的完成情况。

2015 年 6 月,英属哥伦比亚大学 (UBC) 的子公司 Paragon Testing Enterprise 从卡尔顿大学处收购了 CAEL。自此以后,Paragon 公司便对此考试进行了审查和计算机处理,以便该考试能在加拿大及国际上顺利安全地进行。该版本的考试被称作 CAEL CE,其中 CE 表示Computer Edition,即电脑版。CAEL CE 于 2017 年 9 月首次推出,现已在加拿大各考试中心均有提供。Paragon 公司将在 2018 年开始在考试中心提供国际性 CEAL CE 考试。

CEAL CE 在加拿大各大高等院校的认可情况:超过 180 个加拿大教育机构在其学术课程的录取中认可 CEAL CE。访问 CAEL 网站查看完整院校列表

 CAEL 备考

对于有 CAEL 备考计划的个人,以下是一些免费和可购买的学习材料,包括:

  • 考试样题可在 CAEL 网站上免费下载考试样题,其中包括考试样题和答案,以供考生理解 CAEL 考试每一部分的相关要求。
  • 模拟试题:可在有限的时间内,使用专属折扣代码访问两份免费 CAEL 在线模拟试题。
  • 在线讲座、研习班和课程学生可在网站上找到由 CAEL 专家授课的免费在线讲座、研习班以及在线课程供你深入备考。你也可在 CAEL YouTube 网页上观看录制的讲座和研习班视频
  • CAEL CE 预考CAEL CE 预考为 CAEL 考生提供了在真实考试环境中模拟学术英语考试的机会,帮助考生获得经验与自信,以参加电脑化的考试。完成 CAEL CE 预考的考生也将获得在即将来临的 CAEL 考试中享有 50% 折扣的资格。
  • CAEL CE 概述该免费 PDF 说明了该考试的相关内容,包括关于考试五部分内容的讨论、考试形式、计分方法、学习技巧和攻略等内容。

可购买的 CAEL 学习材料包括:

  • 模拟试题可在 CAEL 在线商店中购买在线模拟试题及学习课程,以供考生备考 CAEL。每一份模拟试题都包括完整的试题解答过程,以及真实 CAEL 考生的答题样本。

10 个通过考试的策略

  1. 使用电脑进行练习。CAEL CE 是一项全电脑化的考试,所以请确保你能够熟练使用鼠标和键盘。使用 CAEL CE 的免费样题进行练习是熟悉这一考试形式的好方法。
  2. 注意 CAEL CE 是一项学术英语水平测试。CAEL CE 评估的是你在学术场景中使用英语的能力。备考的最好方法之一是尽可能多的让自己沉浸在学术英语环境中。每天花一些时间阅读新闻和杂志文章;收听与学术主题材料相关的播客和有声读物;通过写博客、日记、电子邮件等练习写作,即便只是几分钟。
  3. 使用大量的词汇和语法结构。尝试在你的写作和口语中展现你的词汇量。避免重复使用相同的词。记住要使用不同的语法结构,并造出长度和复杂程度不同的句子。在 CAEL CE 备考期间,你可以建立一个系统来记录新的学术术语,如:使用索引卡、笔记本或电脑上的图表。
  4. 管理时间。许多考生发现在答题时很难掌控时间。CAEL CE 将完全在电脑上进行,每个屏幕上都会有一个计时器,告知你这一部分剩余的考试时间。关注这些计时器可以帮助你在整个考试过程中调整自己的考试速度。
  5. 检查答案。如果你在完成考试的阅读、听力或写作部分后仍有剩余时间,请检查之前所写的答案,并确保你已尽自己所能完成了所有试题。尤其需要花一些时间检查你的写作部分,以确保你已有条理并且完整地回答了问题,同时确保你的答案中没有输入错误,以免影响答案内容的清晰度。
  6. 吐字清晰、语速自然。对着麦克风清楚地说出答案,嘴部应靠近麦克风,但不宜发生触碰。紧张时很容易语速过快——试着放慢语速,并以正常语速回答。
  7. 别在意你的口音。我们的评分员能够忽略口音问题,并听懂你的回答。除非你的口音影响到他人对你所述内容的理解,否则请不要在意它。请更多地关注语法的良好使用、词汇的准确与多样,以及回答的完整性。
  8. 做笔记。 CAEL CE 考试时将会向你提供一张纸和一支笔。你可以在考试过程中的任何时候使用它们来做笔记,而当你想要列出口语或写作的答题大纲时,它们也可以派上很大的用场。
  9. 关注你所知道的。你可能会在阅读或听力段落中碰到一些很难的词。请不要停留在你不理解的词语上。关注文章大意和你能理解的部分。有时,你可以根据你对新词周围的词语的了解而理解该新词的含义。
  10. 使用多种阅读策略。即便是为了顺利回答阅读部分的试题,你也无需逐字地阅读文章;你应该使用一些阅读策略,如:略读和快速阅读。这些策略可以帮助你解决一些简单的试题,为更难的试题省下更多的时间。

Chris Koelbleitner

Chris Koelbleitner 目前在 Paragon Testing Enterprises从事管理工作。

WES Advisor Blog

Trusted Advice for Academic and Professional Success

10 Tips for Taking the CAEL Exam

Wednesday | June 13, 2018 | by Chris Koelbleitner

Student studying in a library

The Canadian Academic English Language (CAEL) assessment is a test designed to measure the English language proficiency of students planning to study in Canadian post-secondary institutions. The exam is an important part of your journey to study in Canada because it measures your ability to use and understand English at an academic level.

CAEL is the only test that provides a truly authentic representation of language use in a Canadian academic context. It evaluates how well you combine your speaking, reading, listening, and writing skills to perform academic tasks that you would encounter in your first year at a Canadian university or college.

In June 2015, Paragon Testing Enterprises, a subsidiary of The University of British Columbia (UBC), acquired CAEL from Carleton University. Since then, Paragon has reviewed and computerized the test so it can be delivered securely both in Canada and internationally. This version of the test is called CAEL CE, where CE stands for Computer Edition. CAEL CE was first launched in September 2017 and is now available at test centres across Canada. Paragon will begin offering CAEL CE at test centres internationally in 2018.

CAEL CE is accepted by universities and colleges across Canada: Over 180 Canadian institutions accept CAEL CE for admission to their academic programs. Visit the CAEL site to see a complete list of institutions.

Preparing for CAEL

For individuals preparing to take CAEL, there are many free and purchasable study materials, including:

  • Sample tests: Available on the CAEL website, the free sample test includes sample test questions and answers to help test takers understand what to expect on each component of the CAEL Test.
  • Practice tests: For a limited time, use the exclusive discount codes to access two free Online Practice Tests for CAEL.
  • Webinars, workshops, and courses: Available online, the free CAEL webinars, workshops, and online courses provide in-depth preparation, and are taught by CAEL experts. Recorded webinars and workshops are also available on the CAEL YouTube page.
  • CAEL CE pretest: The CAEL CE pretest is an opportunity for CAEL test-takers to practice taking academic English test questions in a real test environment, and to gain experience and confidence in taking a computer-delivered test. Test takers that complete the CAEL CE pretest will also be eligible for a 50 per cent discount on an upcoming CAEL test sitting.
  • CAEL CE overview: This free PDF explains what to expect on the test, including a discussion of the five test parts, their format, scoring methods, study tips and strategies, and more.

Purchasable study materials for CAEL include:

  • Practice tests: Available in the CAEL online store, online practice tests and study programs are available to help test takers prepare for CAEL. Each practice test includes a complete answer key as well as sample responses taken from actual CAEL test takers.

Top 10 Strategies for Success

  1. Practice using a computer. CAEL CE is fully computer delivered, so ensure that you are comfortable with a mouse and keyboard. Practicing with CAEL CE’s free sample test is a good way to familiarize yourself with this format.
  2. Remember that CAEL CE is a test of academic English proficiency. CAEL CE assesses your ability to use English in an academic context. One of the best ways to prepare is to immerse yourself in as much academic English as you can. Read news and journal articles; listen to podcasts and audiobooks on academic subject material; and practice writing via a blog, journal, emails, etc., even for just a few minutes a day.
  3. Use a wide range of vocabulary and grammatical structures. Try to show the range of your vocabulary in your writing and speaking. Avoid using the same words over and over again. Remember to use varied grammatical structures and construct sentences that differ in length and complexity. During your preparation for CAEL CE, you may even want to have a system for keeping track of new academic terms, such as using index cards, a notebook, or a chart on your computer.
  4. Manage your time. Many test takers find it challenging to keep track of the time while writing a test. CAEL CE is fully computer delivered, and you will see a timer on each screen, telling you how much time you’ve got left for that section. Keeping an eye on these timers can help you gauge how to pace yourself throughout the test.
  5. Check your work. If you have any time left over while completing the reading, listening, or writing sections of the test, read over your answers and make sure that you have attempted to answer all questions as well as you can. In particular, try to spend a few minutes reviewing your writing, ensuring that you have fully answered the question in an organized manner, and that you have no typos that could impact the clarity of your response.
  6. Speak clearly and at a natural pace. Speak clearly into the microphone, which should be close to your lips but without touching them. It’s natural to speak quickly when you’re nervous—try to slow down and speak at a normal pace.
  7. Do not worry about your accent. Our raters are trained to disregard accents. Unless your accent prevents you from being understood, do not focus on it. Instead, concentrate on using good grammar, accurate and varied vocabulary, and providing complete answers.
  8. Take notes. While taking CAEL CE, you will be provided with notepaper and a pen. You may use these to take notes during any point in the test, though you may find it especially useful to outline some ideas for your speaking or writing responses.
  9. Focus on what you know. You may come across some difficult words in a reading or listening passage. Don’t get stuck worrying about words you don’t understand. Focus on general meaning and the parts of the passage that you do understand. Sometimes it is possible to understand a new word based on your knowledge of the words that are around it.
  10. Use a variety of reading strategies. You don’t have to read every single word in a passage to successfully answer questions in the Reading sections; instead, use reading strategies, such as skimming and scanning. These may help you with some of the simpler questions, leaving more time to spend with the more difficult questions.

Chris Koelbleitner

Chris Koelbleitner is a Manager of Instructional Products and Programs at Paragon Testing Enterprises.