WES Advisor Blog

助你取得学业职业成功

10 项紧缺的技术职业

星期二 | 2019-01-22 | by Sahra Togone

随着全球化的日益发展,许多国家都竞相地吸引并留住技术工人,以发展当地经济。自 20 世纪 60 年代实行积分制以来,加拿大政府已开始成为移民改革中的领先者。2015 年,加拿大政府引进了快速入境 (Express Entry) 申请流程,一种旨在管理加拿大技术移民的快速通道系统。

为与联邦系统保持一致,加拿大的许多省份都已规定了能够优先通过省提名计划快速入境的职业。安大略省快速入境:人力资源优先类别 (Human Capital Priorities Stream) 最近为信息和通信技术 (ICT) 行业的目标职业制定了一份国家职业分类 (National Occupational Classification, NOC) 规范清单。正如加拿大的其他省一样,由于成千上万的当地毕业生无法满足其经济发展的需求,安大略省目前也正面临着技术行业人力资源短缺的问题

请查看以下清单以获得更多关于安大略省 10 项人员短缺技术职业的详细信息:

  • 电信运营商经理电信运营商经理的工作内容是管理、组织、规划和评估电信机构、部门和设施的流程。他们对电信安装和维护服务进行分析和评估,协调公司内外部,以维持电信系统的高效运作。要成为一名电信运营商经理,你需要拥有电气工程或相关领域的学位。大多数电信运营商经理通常受雇于有线、无线或卫星电信服务供应商。
  • 计算机信息系统经理计算机信息系统 (Computer and information ,CIS) 经理的工作内容是针对管理计算机及电信软件和信息系统的机构的活动进行评估、控制、规划及组织。大多数公共和私营机构都设有 CIS 经理一职,包括政府部门、学术机构和非盈利组织。如果你拥有计算机科学或计算机工程领域的学士学位,并且你在处事中具有很强的条理性,那么这可能是最适合你的工作!
  • 电气和电子工程师电气和电子工程师的工作内容是在各种场景中规划、设计、研究和监测电气设备和系统。他们经常受雇于制造、加工和运输、通信技术、电力公用事业公司和咨询公司。虽然这一职业仅要求受雇者拥有电气工程学士学位,但若拥有电气工程或相关领域的硕士或博士学位则会为你的简历加分。
  • 计算机工程师计算机工程师的工作内容是对电信硬件和信息通信系统网络的研究、评估、设计和开发。这一职业的从业人员通常受雇于工程、制造、通信公司,以及教育和研究机构,但也可在私营组织和公共部门组织的信息技术部门找到许多合适的岗位。这一职业通常要受雇者拥有计算机工程学士学位或工程物理学或计算机科学的相关学位,但拥有硕士或博士学位则可增加你受雇的机会。请注意,目前安大略省提名计划的这一类别中尚未包括软件工程师和设计师。
  • 信息系统分析师信息系统分析师和咨询师的工作内容是分析、开发和实施信息系统开发计划,并就如何开发信息系统和制定系统要求提供指导。这一职业的从业人员通常受雇于私营和公共部门的信息技术公司。大多数雇主更喜欢雇用顺利获得计算机科学或相关学科学士学位的求职者。
  • 数据库分析师数据库分析师负责设计和分析数据管理软件。他们通常受雇于私营或公共组织的信息技术部门,并为信息系统项目管理数据库。数据库分析师通常受雇于私营和公共部门的信息技术单位和咨询公司。这一职业通常要求受雇者拥有计算机科学学士学位或相关领域的学位,如:数学。
  • 软件工程师和设计师软件工程师和设计师负责创建应用软件、操作系统和嵌入式软件信息,并将其整合进业务流程中。他们通常受雇于私营和公共部门的开发公司,包括政府和非盈利组织。这一职业通常要求受雇者拥有计算机科学、计算机系统、软件工程或数学学士学位。
  • 计算机程序员和互动媒体开发员计算机程序员和互动媒体开发员的工作内容是编写和修改软件代码。计算机程序员负责通过修改和识别技术难题和提供解决方案来维护现有计算机程序,而互动媒体开发员则负责编写动画软件和用于电影及视频应用中的特效软件。这些职业通常受雇于私营和公共部门的信息技术咨询公司、信息技术单位,以及初创技术企业。这一职业通常要求受雇者拥有计算机科学学士学位或计算机系统工程、软件工程和数学相关学位。
  • 网页设计师和开发员网页设计师和开发员的工作内容是对互联网和内部网站的研究、设计和维护。他们就职于私营和公共组织,作为网站架构师与客户进行联络。网页设计师和开发员通常受雇于计算机软件开发公司和广告机构。雇主通常会要求受雇者拥有计算机科学或通信和商业研究学士学位,或完成计算机科学、平面艺术、网页设计或商科的大学课程。
  • 电气与电子工程技师和技员电气与电子工程技师和技员负责为电气和电子设备和系统的开发、测试和运作提供技术支持服务。技师和技员通常受雇于电气/电子设备制造商的电气公共事业公司、咨询公司或通讯公司。这一职业通常要求受雇者在大学期间学习过两至三年电气或电子工程的课程。这一职业可能会要求受雇者拥有省工程协会授予的电气或电子工程技术证书,而这也常常会提高你受雇的机会。

Sahra Togone

Sahra Togone 是WES加拿大Global Talent Bridge部门的研究和政策实习生。

WES Advisor Blog

Trusted Advice for Academic and Professional Success

Top 10 In Demand Technology Careers

Tuesday | August 8, 2017 | by Sahra Togone

As the world becomes increasingly globalized, many countries are competing to attract and retain skilled workers to grow local economies. Since implementing a points-based system in the 1960s, the government of Canada has become a leader in transforming immigration. In 2015, the government introduced the Express Entry application process, which is a fast-track system designed to manage skilled immigrants settle in Canada.

In alignment with the federal system, several provinces across Canada have prioritized specific occupations for express entry through provincial nominee programs. The Ontario Express Entry: Human Capital Priorities stream has recently launched a list of National Occupational Classification (NOC) Codes for targeted occupations in the Information and Communications Technology (ICT) sector. Like many provinces across Canada, Ontario is currently facing a human capital shortage in the tech sector, with thousands of local graduates failing to meet the demands of the growing economy.

Check our list below for more details about the top 10 technology careers in demand across Ontario:

  • Telecommunication Carriers Managers: Telecommunication carriers managers manage, organize, plan, and evaluate the processes of telecommunication institutions, units, and facilities. They analyze and assess telecommunication installation and maintenance services, and coordinate with internal and external companies to maintain efficient telecommunications system operations. To get hired as a telecommunications carriers manager, you will need to have a degree in electrical engineering or a related field. Most telecommunication carriers managers are usually employed by wired, wireless, or satellite telecommunication service providers.
  • Computer and Information Systems Managers: Computer and information systems (CIS) managers evaluate, control, plan, and organize the activities of organizations that administer computer and telecommunications software and information systems. CIS Managers can be found in almost all public and private organizations, including government offices, academic institutions, and nonprofit agencies. If you have a bachelor’s degree in computer science or computer engineering and you are highly organized, this could be the right job for you!
  • Electrical and Electronics Engineers: Electrical and electronic engineers plan, design, research, and monitor electrical equipment and systems in a variety of settings. They are often employed in manufacturing, processing and transportation, communications technologies, electrical utilities companies, and consulting firms. Although only a bachelor’ degree in electrical engineering is required, a master’s or doctoral degree in electrical engineering or a related field could add value to your résumé.
  • Computer EngineersComputer engineers conduct research, evaluate, design, and develop telecommunication hardware and information and communication system networks. Typically employed in engineering, manufacturing, telecommunication firms, educational, and research institutions, there are a variety of roles to fill within information technology departments in both private and public sectors organizations. A bachelor’s degree in computer engineering or a related degree in engineering physics or computer science is usually required by employers, and a master’s or doctoral degree can increase your chances of getting hired. Note, at this time, software engineers and designers are not included in this category for the purposes of the Ontario Provincial Nominee program.
  • Information Systems AnalystsInformation systems analysts and consultants analyze, develop, and implement information system development plans and provide guidance on how to develop information systems and system requirements. These professionals are often employed in information technology firms within the private and public sectors. Most employers prefer hiring candidates who have successfully completed a bachelor’s degree in computer science or a related discipline.
  • Database Analysts: Database analysts design and analyze data management software. They are often employed in information technology departments in either private or public organizations and manage databases for information systems projects. Database analysts are often employed in information technology units within private and public sectors and consulting firms. A bachelor’s degree in computer science is normally required or a degree in a related field such as mathematics.
  • Software Engineers and Designers: Software engineers and designers create and integrate software applications, operating systems, and embedded software information into business processes. They are usually employed by development firms in the private and public sector, including government and nonprofit organizations. A bachelor’s degree in computer science, computer systems, software engineering or mathematics is usually required.
  • Computer Programmers and Interactive Media Developers: Computer programmers and interactive media developers write and revise software code. Computer programmers maintain existing computer programs by modifying and identifying technical problems and providing solutions, while interactive media developers are responsible for programming animation software, and special effects software for film and video applications. These roles are often employed by information technology consulting firms, information technology units within private and public sectors, and startup and technology ventures. A bachelor’s degree in computer science or a related degree such as computer systems engineering, software engineering, and mathematics is usually required by employers.
  • Web Designers and Developers: Web designers and developers research, design, and maintain Internet and Intranet sites. Working in private and public organizations, they liaise with clients as website architects. Web designers and developers are often employed by computer software development firms and advertising agencies. A bachelor’s degree in either computer science or communications and business studies, or the completion of a college program in computer science, graphic arts, web design or business is typically required by employers.
  • Electrical and Electronics Engineering Technologists and Technicians: Electrical and electronics engineering technologists and technicians provide technical support services in the development, testing, and operation of electrical and electronic equipment and systems. Technologists and technicians are usually employed in electrical utility companies by manufacturers of electrical/electronic equipment, consulting firms or communication firms. A two or three-year college program in electrical or electronics engineering is usually required by employers. A certification in electrical or electronics engineering technology from a provincial association of engineering may be required and can often increase your chances in getting hired.

Sahra Togone

Sahra Togone is a Research and Policy Intern at WES Global Talent Bridge Canada.