WES Advisor Blog

助你取得学业职业成功

读写能力如何影响你的职业生涯

星期一 | 2018-09-24 | by Shaunna-Marie Kerr

Woman studying in classroom

工作开发人员,雇主和招聘人员会告诉你,良好的沟通技巧是成功最重要因素之一。有效的沟通对雇主和员工的满意度影响最大,好的沟通有助于建立和维持积极的工作关系。好的沟通技巧让人们在与他人互动时感到被重视和理解。语言和读写能力是沟通的重要组成部分,特别是在英语非母语的情况下。

你可能会发现,为了达到理想的职业成功水平,你必须在新的国家加大力度提升自己的语言和识字技能。虽然托福雅思考试可以测量一个人的语言能力,但并不能衡量其整体沟通技巧。成为一个有效的沟通者是关于语言和读写技能之间的平衡,以及你如何使用它们与周围的人互动。

语言与读写能力的差异

尽管许多人以为语言和识字能力是同一种东西,但实际上它们指的是两个截然不同但相关的概念。语言是“社区使用和理解的词语,发音和组合方法。”它特别关注语言因素,如理解字母,一般词汇和特定语言的句子结构。语言技能是“便携式的”,因为英语在全球范围内在语法技术上是相同的,但英语语言的特定使用方式将取决于地理位置。

读写能力是关于非语言因素,如文化知识,教育背景,行业或雇主特定的词汇。读写是不可移植的,因为每个新环境都有不同的通信规范,可以为相同的单词赋予多种含义。根据教科文组织教育部门的定义:“读写是使用与不同背景相关的印刷和书面材料来识别,理解,解释,创造,交流和计算的能力。”

读写是一种需要通过持续运用来维持的技能。它需要在不同的地方进行多次演变,即使是精通英语的人也不能保证能百分之百无误。在加拿大,42%的16至65岁的加拿大人的读写能力较低,尽管近60%的人口能说流利的英语。这个百分比由加拿大人组成,他们将英语作为他们的第一语言,但他们的读写水平低于非英语母语的非本地加拿大人。在美国,超过9000万成年人缺乏充分参与劳动力所需的读写技能。

读写能力同时对于找到和维持就业至关重要。诸如理解技能和分析复杂信息的能力等方面的识字能力尤其适用于信息和通信技术,工程,金融和医学等职业。

随着我们越来越接近知识经济时代,更高的读写水平将成为大多数职业就业能力的决定性因素。仅在加拿大,读写水平不高的加拿大人中只有不到60%的人保持就业,英语非母语且非加拿大人的就业率也在持续下降。在美国,大约40%的移民缺乏基本的读写能力,而劳动力市场参与率较低则是直接结果。除了对就业的影响之外,读写能力也会影响人追求教育和培训的机会,而这些机会对于长期的职业成功也至关重要。

读写技能还会影响一个人在团队会议,与老板的对话以及与外部利益相关者的互动中轻松自信地传达想法和意见的能力。高水平的读写能力帮助展现自己作为员工的价值,并充分发挥潜力,同时在业务决策和讨论中发挥领导作用。它可以是一个很好的区分,因为“语言”是关于知道某些单词和词汇,但“读写”是关于有信心在各种环境中使用这些单词并愿意在日常的各个方面与他人交往生活。

提高读写技能的策略

许多资源可以帮助提高你的英语语言技能,但专注于提高读写技能的资源可能会比较少。幸运的是,你可以通过在日常生活中加入一些小的习惯来提高读写技能。

为了增加对行业特定词汇的了解,你可以开始定期阅读贸易杂志和新闻简报。读写水平的一部分是了解使用单词,短语和语句的特定上下文涵义。这些杂志和新闻稿不仅可以帮助你熟悉行业术语,还可以让你及时了解关注行业的最新动态。你还可以参加行业专家发言的网络研讨会。这些网络研讨会将帮助你更深入了解目标工作领域的具体问题,并且可以帮你熟悉业内人士使用的特定单词和短语,以及他们如何在专业环境中互动。

增加你对新国家广泛社会和公民环境的理解也很重要。尝试一下当地日报上的填字游戏,或在闲暇时间观看Jeopardy等教育游戏节目。尽管这些听起来似乎微不足道,但这些会在你的日常生活中不断注入新的词汇,同时帮助你洞察流行文化和当前的社会问题。你还可以通过加入当地社区团体,或通过社区机构的志愿服务,提高读写技能。就像社交关系一样,提高你的读写技能可以通过低成本的非正式渠道来完成,不会给你带来不必要的负担。

在我们讨论沟通交流会如何影响技术移民的社会经济包容时,语言和读写能力之间的差异往往被忽视。托福雅思成绩固然重要,但高水平的读写能力才是事业成功的关键。

Shaunna-Marie Kerr

Shaunna-Marie Kerr是WES加拿大Global Talent Bridge部门的项目经理。

WES Advisor Blog

Trusted Advice for Academic and Professional Success

How Literacy Levels Can Impact Your Career

Wednesday | August 16, 2017 | by Shaunna-Marie Kerr

Woman studying in classroom

Job developers, employers, and recruiters will tell you that strong communication skills are one of the most important factors in finding, maintaining, and succeeding in your job. Effective communication has the largest impact on both employer and employee satisfaction and can help to build and maintain positive working relationships. Communication skills are what make people feel valued and understood when interacting with others. Language and literacy skills are both essential parts of communication especially in a situation where English may not be your first language.

You may find that you have to put more effort in developing these language and literacy skills in your new country in order to reach the level of career success that you want. Although they can accurately measure your language abilities, tests such as the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) and the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) do not measure communication skills as a whole. Being an effective communicator is about the balance between language and literacy skills, and how you use both to interact with the people around you.

The Difference Between Language and Literacy

If you think that language and literacy refer to the same thing, you are not alone. Although many people use these words interchangeably, they actually refer to two distinct but related concepts. Language is “the words, their pronunciation, and the methods of combining them used and understood by a community.” It is specifically about linguistic factors like understanding the alphabet, general vocabulary, and sentence structure of a particular language. Language skills are “portable” in the sense that the English language is technically the same across the globe, but the English language is used differently depending on the location.

Literacy is about non-linguistic factors such as cultural knowledge, educational background, and industry- or employer-specific vocabulary. Literacy is not portable because each new environment has different communication norms that can give several meanings to the same words. As defined by the UNESCO Education Sector: “Literacy is the ability to identify, understand, interpret, create, communicate, and compute using printed and written materials associated with varying contexts.”

Literacy is a skill that needs to be exercised to maintain it. It needs to evolve multiple times in a variety of places and is not guaranteed even among those who are fluent in English. In Canada, 42 percent of Canadians between the ages of 16 and 65 have low literacy skills despite almost 60 percent of the population being fluent in the English language. This percentage is made up of Canadians who identified English as their first language, but their literacy levels were lower than non-native Canadians who identified a different language as their mother tongue. In the United States, more than 90 million adults lack the literacy skills needed to fully engage with the workforce.

Although literacy skills are important to fully participate in social and civic activities within your new community, they are essential for securing and maintaining employment. Aspects of literacy such as comprehension skills and the ability to analyze complex pieces of information are especially useful different sectors that include information and communication technology, engineering, finance, and medicine.

As we move closer toward the knowledge economy, higher literacy levels will be a defining factor in employability across all sectors. In Canada alone, less than 60 percent of native Canadians with low literacy levels are employed, and employment rates decrease among non-native Canadians in which English is not their first language. In the United States, roughly 40 percent of immigrants lack basic literacy skills, and there are strong indicators of lower labour market participation as a direct result. Aside from the impacts on finding employment, literacy levels affect your ability to pursue the education and training opportunities that can be crucial to long-term career success.

Literacy skills also influence your capacity to comfortably and confidently communicate your ideas and input in team meetings, conversations with your boss, and interactions with external stakeholders. High levels of literacy allow you to show your value as an employee and work to your full potential while taking the lead in business decisions and discussions. It can be a fine line to distinguish because “language” is about knowing certain words and vocabularies, but “literacy” is about having the confidence to use those words in a variety of settings and being willing to engage with others in all aspects of daily life.

Strategies for Improving Literacy Skills

There are many resources you can use to improve your English language skills, but finding resources that focus on improving literacy skills can be more challenging. Luckily, you can work on improving your literacy skills independently by incorporating a few new practices into your daily life.

To increase your knowledge of industry-specific vocabulary, you can start reading trade magazines and newsletters on a regular basis. As mentioned above, part of literacy is being aware of the specific context in which words, phrases, and statements are being used. These magazines and newsletters will not only help you become familiar with industry jargon and terminology, but they can also keep you updated on what is happening in your industry of interest. You can also participate in webinars where industry experts are speaking. These webinars will provide you with a better understanding of specific issues impacting the field in which you want to work, and they can be used to study specific words and phrases that presenters use, as well as how they interact with each other in a professional setting.

Increasing your understanding of the wider social and civic context in your new country is also important. Try completing crossword puzzles from local daily newspapers, or watch educational game shows such as Jeopardy during your leisure time. Although it may seem trivial, these types of activities can introduce new words into your vocabulary while also providing insight into other things such as popular culture and current social issues. Literacy skills can also be improved by joining local community groups and associations, or by volunteering in community agencies. Much like networking, improving your literacy skills can be accomplished through informal channels that are low-cost and that do not place an unnecessary burden on you.

When discussing how communication impacts the socio-economic inclusion of skilled immigrants, the difference between language and literacy is often overlooked. IELTS scores and language levels determined by other exams are valid and important, but a high level of literacy is central to career success.

Shaunna-Marie Kerr

Shaunna-Marie Kerr is the Program Manager at WES Global Talent Bridge Canada.