WES continues to receive academic documents from institutions around the globe, including 7,000 that now send us secure, digital files. For updates, visit our notifications page.

WES Advisor Blog

助你取得学业职业成功

从巴西到美国:我的博士梦

星期二 | 2018-01-30 | by William Shibuya

PhD in the U.S.

离开巴西前往国外攻读博士学位并不是我长久以来的目标,而是一份在过程中开始变的越来越有意义的经历,直到它成为我生命中合乎逻辑的下一步。大约10年前,我离开自己从事的行业成为了一名教授。巴西是一个伟大的国家,但低质量的教育和管理是其发展的主要绊脚石。所以,把我学到的知识和经历传授下去是我积极影响这个国家发展的一种方式。

我开始教书后逐渐发现自己有必要通过学习成为一名更好的教授。我已经拥有工商管理学士学位和MBA学位,所以我决定攻读硕士学位。通过硕士课程,我还有机会做一些研究,试图找到职业生涯以来一直困扰着我的问题的答案。从我在企业财务方面的经验来看,我知道理解财务和营销之间的交集很复杂,特别是如何衡量营销投资的财务结果。

我的硕士论文是关于公司如何回应消费者投诉的方式对盈利能力的影响。一句来自导师的评语为我在美国攻读博士学位在心中播下种子。他告诉我正在研究与营销有关的问题,而大部分做这种研究的人不在巴西。他们是对的 – 如果你看看我用于论文的参考资料,来自巴西的作者很少。因此,为了更多地了解营销财务并继续我的研究,我离开巴西去了美国。

以下是根据我的经验给国际生在美攻读博士的几点建议:

尽可能早开始

博士申请过程非常复杂。说明和要求往往比较模糊,不同学校的要求都会有所不同,你的申请可能需要长时间才能完成。秋季入学的申请截止日期通常为每年12月至1月。许多申请人都提前至少一年开始准备。虽然我的经验来自于申请市场营销博士项目,但其他与商业相关的博士课程(如财务和供应链)的申请都有类似。

这些是学校通常需要或想要在博士学位申请中看到的几件东西:

  • 至少有学士学位。不一定需要与商科相关,大多数申请人也拥有硕士学位。
  • 文凭,成绩单和你的GPA。如果文件不是英文的,通常需要翻译。
  • 经历。相关研究经历通常占最大比重,但教学和其他工作经验也可以提供帮助。
  • 推荐信。学校通常要求准备三封推荐信。请优先考虑来自熟悉你的教授的推荐,这些 推荐可以强有力地佐证申请人成为研究员的潜力。
  • 个人陈述。申请人通过一封书信的形式解释他们为什么想在选定的学校攻读博士学位。
  • 在标准考试中取得高分。大多数商学院接受GMATGRE
  • 英语水平考试成绩优异(如果你不是来自英语国家)。TOFEL托福通常是美国项目所需的考试。

起初这个过程看似并不复杂。你只需填写在线申请,并上传相关文件。但请不要低估这一过程。由于每个市场营销博士项目通常每年只接受两三名新生,你的申请会与很多申请者竞争比较,而这些申请者往往是来自他们国家的一些最优秀的学生。请务必保证申请档案的质量。

一项比较花时间的硬性要求是GMAT或GRE。这些考试会测试数学和英语技能。然而,即使你在数学和英语方面都很出色,GMAT也可能是一个很大的挑战。其问题结构与其他考试非常不同。学习GMAT的考试策略与了解数学和英语一样重要。尽量早开始准备标准化考试,这样你就不会在申请截止前为一个良好的分数而发愁。

申请人在面对庞大的学校选择数量时也会感到迷茫。我应该申请多少所学校?哪所学校?回答这些问题并不简单。因为美国拥有太多优秀的博士项目,但缺乏可靠的排名。例如,你可以找到世界上排名第前100的商学院,但申请100所学校显然是不现实的。人们通常会申请大约15所学校,但想要把自己的目标范围缩小到15所并不是一件简单的事情,申请人需要对自己的能力背景和目标,以及目标学校有深入了解。

调查每所学校的教师及其研究特点

申请人必须对每所学校和教职员进行研究。尝试找到那些在做你感兴趣的研究的教授。因为不管你的硬件有多好,倘若研究兴趣与学校的教师不合适,学校也很难接受你。

提交申请后,学校会邀请其认为最合适的申请人面试。面试通常在线上进行,但他们也可能会要求申请人去学校现场面试。秋季入学录取决定通常会在1月至3月间作出。

我在美国的经历

我在德克萨斯州休斯顿市攻读博士学位。这里与我在巴西圣保罗的生活没有太大差别。虽然圣保罗的规模更大,但休斯顿仍然是美国最大的城市之一。休斯顿的天气有时更加剧烈(哈维飓风在我的博士课程的第一周就袭击了休斯敦,而且我在冬天很少看到雪),但其他方面与圣保罗类似。生活成本虽不同,公寓租金相比巴西非常昂贵。然而,大学向博士生支付的津贴对一个人来说已足够承担一部分生活费用。

最后一点想法

攻读博士学位极具挑战性,往往伴随着压倒性的压力。有许多课程需要学习,许多论文需要通读,以及一些非常困难的作业和项目需要完成。但这也意味着你会在短时间内学到很多东西。目前为止,我已经完成了一个学期,而这期间我积累的知识深度让我感到惊讶。市场营销部门的教授们同样令人难以置信,他们是我遇到过的最聪明的人,但同时工作极其刻苦,人也非常友好。另外很多博士生也来自于其他不同国家,对国际学生来说这是一个很好的环境。如果你想挑战自己并成为一名优秀的研究人员,那么在美国攻读博士学位能够帮助你实现目标。

William Shibuya是休斯顿大学C.T.鲍尔商学院营销学博士生。

WES continues to receive academic documents from institutions around the globe, including 10,000 that now send us secure digital files. For updates, visit our notifications page.

WES Advisor Blog

Trusted Advice for Academic and Professional Success

From Brazil to the U.S.: A PhD Dream

Tuesday | January 30, 2018 | by William Shibuya

PhD in the U.S.

Leaving Brazil to do a PhD abroad was not a goal I had established, but rather something that started to make more and more sense until it became the logical next step in my life. Approximately 10 years ago, I left an industry career to become a professor. Brazil is a great country, but low-quality education and administration are major stumbling blocks for its growth. So, teaching people about what I learned and experienced was my way to have a positive impact in my country.

I started to teach and felt the need to study to become a better professor. I already had a bachelor’s degree in business administration and an MBA, so I decided to go for a master’s degree. Through a master’s program, I also saw the opportunity to do some research to try to find answers to questions that had been bothering me since my industry career. From my experience in corporate finance, I knew how hard it was to understand the interface between finance and marketing—specifically, how to measure the financial results of marketing investments.

My master’s thesis was about how profitability is impacted by the way companies answer complaints from consumers. A commentary from my advisors became the seed for my intentions to do a PhD in the U.S. They said that I was doing research about issues that are relevant to marketing, but people who do that kind of research are not in Brazil. And they were right—if you look at the references I used for my thesis, there are very few Brazilian authors. So, to learn more about the marketing-finance interface and continue my research, I left Brazil for the U.S.

Based on my experience, here are my tips for international students interested in pursuing a PhD in the U.S.

Start as Soon as Possible

The application process is very complex. Instructions and requirements are often vague and can be very different from school to school. There is a lot to do and the applications can take a long time to complete. Deadlines are usually from December to January each year for fall admissions. Many applicants start preparing at least one year in advance. Although my experience is with marketing PhD program applications, the applications for other business-related PhD programs, such as finance and supply chain, are similar.

These are a few things that schools usually require or want to see in a PhD application:

  • At least a bachelor’s degree. This does not necessarily need to be in business; most applicants also have a master’s degree.
  • Diplomas, transcripts, and your GPA. Translations are typically required if the documents are not in English.
  • Experience. Research experience is the most important, but teaching and work experience can help too.
  • Letters of recommendation. You usually need three letters of recommendation and preference is given to letters from professors who can attest to the applicant’s potential to become a researcher.
  • Statement of purpose. This is a letter where applicants explain why they want to do a PhD at the selected school.
  • High scores on standardized exams. Most business schools accept the GMAT and the GRE.
  • High scores in English proficiency exams (if you are not from an English-speaking country). The TOEFL is usually the exam required for programs in the U.S.

The process may not seem so complex at first. You just have to fill out an online application with the requirements from the list above. But do not underestimate the process. You are competing with many applicants who are often some of the best students from their countries, and schools accept very few of them. Each marketing PhD program usually accepts only two or three new students a year.

One of the requirements that can take a long time is the GMAT or GRE. These exams measure quantitative and verbal skills. This means Mathematics and English. However, even if you are great in both Mathematics and English, the GMAT can be a real challenge. The GMAT has questions that are structured very differently from other exams. Learning strategies to take the GMAT is as important as knowing Mathematics and English. You do not want to still be struggling to get a good GMAT score close to the application deadlines.

Applicants can also feel completely lost with the large selection of schools the can apply to. How many schools should I apply to? Which ones? It is incredibly hard to answer these questions. There are no reliable rankings for PhD programs. There are too many excellent PhD programs in the U.S. You can find some of the best business schools in the world ranked 100th, for example. It is not realistic to apply to 100 schools. People usually apply to approximately 15 schools, but it is hard to narrow the list down to those 15 schools.

Investigate Each School’s Faculty and Their Research Specialties

You have to do your research on each school and the kind of research produced by the faculty. Try to find those professors who do the kind of research you want. Because, no matter how good you are, a school will not accept you if your research interests do not fit with the school’s faculty.

After you submit your application, schools may invite the best applicants for an interview. The interview is often online, but they may also ask applicants to fly to the school. Decisions are usually released from January to March for fall admissions.

My Experience in the U.S.

I am doing my PhD in the city of Houston, Texas. It is not so different from the city where I lived in Brazil, São Paulo. São Paulo is bigger, but Houston is still one of the biggest cities in the U.S. The weather is sometimes more extreme in Houston (Hurricane Harvey hit Houston during the first week of my PhD program, and I’ve seen a little snow in the winter), but often, it is similar to São Paulo. The cost of living is very different and renting an apartment is very expensive. However, the stipend the university pays to PhD students is more than enough for one person.

Final Thoughts

A PhD is extremely demanding, often overwhelming. There are many subjects to study, many papers to read, and some very difficult homework and projects to do. But that means you learn a lot in a short time. I have completed one semester so far, and it is amazing the amount of knowledge I have gained. The professors in the marketing department are incredible. They are some of the smartest people I have ever met, but also very nice and hard working. Plus, the other PhD students are from many different countries, so it is a great environment for international students. If you want to challenge yourself and become a great researcher, you will find that kind of opportunity by pursuing a PhD in the U.S.

William Shibuya is a Marketing Ph.D. student at the C. T. Bauer College of Business, University of Houston.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of World Education Services (WES).